HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   MyDNS as slave DNS server? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=19047)

lano 5th January 2008 21:14

MyDNS as slave DNS server?
 
I don't know MyDNS, so:
I would like to use Ispconfig as master dns server and MyDNS server on different location as slave (second and third) dns servers for approx. 200 domains. Is that possible?

Thanks, David

falko 6th January 2008 16:42

No, you can't use MyDNS as a BIND slave. Normally you use two MyDNS server and enable database replication between the two so that the slave gets all the modifications from the master, but because BIND isn't database-based, this doesn't work here...

syakir 22nd March 2008 13:01

is there any automated database replication? currently i'm using crontab with mydnsimport to pull the zone files from ns1.

falko 23rd March 2008 18:01

You can set up MySQL replication as follows: http://www.howtoforge.com/mysql_database_replication

syakir 23rd March 2008 19:39

my first try setting MyDNS as master and BIND as slave also failed. it says that connection refused. i've set allow-transfer in bind but still not working. any work around there?

thanks in advance.

falko 24th March 2008 13:10

You must allow zone transfers on the master (MyDNS).
Please set
allow-axfr = yes
in /etc/mydns.conf.

nextnaro 10th September 2009 07:08

try this
 
http://www.wantlinux.net/2008/05/mys...based-control/


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.