HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Proftpd Inside Network (Very Slow) (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1886)

zer0_g666 31st December 2005 15:59

Proftpd Inside Network (Very Slow)
 
Proftpd works perfectly outside the network but inside it is very slow, it always takes 8seconds to upload a file, i was wondering if this is normal? .. or is there some i can change to fix this ?

Cheers

falko 31st December 2005 18:42

Where is proftpd located? Inside or outside your network? Have you tried both active and passive mode?
What's in /var/log/xferlog?

till 1st January 2006 12:07

If you have hostname lookups enabled in your proftpd.conf, try to disbale it.

zer0_g666 2nd January 2006 00:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Where is proftpd located? Inside or outside your network? Have you tried both active and passive mode?
What's in /var/log/xferlog?

Im on the same network as the server, i.e. server ip 192.128.0.2 and me pc 192.128.4, both active and passive are the same.

its not the actual speed of the file transfers its the time it takes to exe a command, it always takes 8 seconds before it will start the transfer and 8 seconds just for a dir listing.

In the xferlog it doesnt seem to show any errors at all ... :confused:

Outside my network where my server ip would be 80.127.122.*** the ftp server works fine, nice and fast, i was just wondering if its because im working on the same network and there is a fix i can apply or if a fault .....

Cheers

zer0_g666 2nd January 2006 00:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
If you have hostname lookups enabled in your proftpd.conf, try to disbale it.

Ive tried both on and off and it doesnt seem to make any difference :confused:

falko 2nd January 2006 00:43

Maybe it's the firewall on your workstation that's causing the problem. Have you tried to disable it?

zer0_g666 2nd January 2006 02:19

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Maybe it's the firewall on your workstation that's causing the problem. Have you tried to disable it?


Yea, ive got zonealarm pro and its the same even when disabled ... :(

till 2nd January 2006 09:54

Did you have a low transfer rate or did it take very long when you connect to the FTP server?

zer0_g666 3rd January 2006 05:42

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Did you have a low transfer rate or did it take very long when you connect to the FTP server?

the transfers are fast its just the commands take ages to execute ...

Status: Connecting to 192.168.0.4 ...
Status: Connected with 192.168.0.4. Waiting for welcome message...

(takes 8secs here)

Response: 220 Gemini FTP Server ready.
Command: USER web1_kd3sign
Response: 331 Password required for web1_kd3sign.
Command: PASS ********
Response: 230 User web1_kd3sign logged in.
Command: FEAT
Response: 211-Features:
Response: MDTM
Response: REST STREAM
Response: SIZE
Response: 211 End
Command: SYST
Response: 215 UNIX Type: L8
Status: Connected
Status: Retrieving directory listing...
Command: PWD
Response: 257 "/" is current directory.
Command: TYPE A
Response: 200 Type set to A
Command: PASV
Response: 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,4,222,10).
Command: LIST

(takes 8secs here)

Response: 150 Opening ASCII mode data connection for file list
Response: 226 Transfer complete.
Status: Directory listing successful

falko 3rd January 2006 10:10

Maybe it's the firewall on the FTP server... :confused: Please post the output of
Code:

iptables -L


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.