HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   SAMBA domain controller / CUPS (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1852)

gradedcheese 28th December 2005 21:37

SAMBA domain controller / CUPS
 
Hello. I used this HOWTO:

http://www.howtoforge.com/samba_setup_ubuntu_5.10

to set up samba and it worked very well. However I cannot seem to get cups to work. On the fresh ubuntu install, I was able to use the gnome cups config tool to add my network printer (which has a static IP). After doing the steps in the HOWTO that tool no longer runs (it says that it cannot contact the cups server). My printer isn't listed in the 'Printers and Faxes' of the samba server under windows and I cannot browse for it.

How do I go about making the gnome tool work again? Also, how does one make the printer show up in Samba aside from running 'cupsaddsmb -a'?

I also cannot get the web frontend for cups to work, so perhaps I had done something incorrectly in general. I will re-check things as well.

till 28th December 2005 23:31

If you cant connect with the gnome tool to the cups server and the webinterface is not working, i guess your cups server is not running at all or has not been started.

Please all check the settings in /etc/cups/cupsd.conf

Did you get an error message when you execute this command on the shell:

/etc/init.d/cupsys restart

Quote:

Also, how does one make the printer show up in Samba aside from running 'cupsaddsmb -a'?
There are no other steps. But if cups is not running at all, the printers wont show up in samba.

gradedcheese 28th December 2005 23:39

Hi. Cups starts and restarts fine but the gnome tool or the web config on port 631 don't work. I am double-checking the settings again now but I think they are like what is in the HOWTO. My setup is similar min that my server has a static IP.

till 28th December 2005 23:50

If there is an error in the cups config file, cups will only start the server part that is nescessary for printing, but not the part that is nescessary for the communication with samba, the webinterface and other config tools. Please check the logfiles for errors too and check with netstat if the software listens on port 631.

gradedcheese 29th December 2005 00:11

Hi. I should have looked at a log earlier, I looked at /var/log/cups/error_log and found this when I restart cups:

Code:

I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Listening to 7f000101:631
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Listening to c0a801fc:631
E [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Unknown directive AuthGroupName on line 711.
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Loaded configuration file "/etc/cups/cupsd.conf"
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Configured for up to 100 clients.
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Allowing up to 100 client connections per host.
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] Full reload is required.
E [28/Dec/2005:14:07:46 -0800] LoadAllClasses: Unable to open /etc/cups/classes.conf - No
such file or directory
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:47 -0800] LoadPPDs: Read "/etc/cups/ppds.dat", 4104 PPDs...
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:47 -0800] LoadPPDs: No new or changed PPDs...
I [28/Dec/2005:14:07:47 -0800] Full reload complete.
X [28/Dec/2005:14:07:47 -0800] No Listen or Port lines were found to allow access via localhost

So it seems that 'AuthGroupName' is not understood (it's one of the things that the HOWTO instructs me to add). Also, it apprears that I didn't set up listening correctly either.

till 29th December 2005 00:39

I guess you put "AuthGroupName shadow" in the wrong part of the config file because its supported.

Open the config file, search for AuthGroupName, you will find it commented out. Put the line AuthGroupName shadow right below the commented AuthGroupName line.

gradedcheese 29th December 2005 02:40

Thanks, I think 'AuthGroupName' is now in the right place, also I mistyped some addresses. I am pretty confident that the config file looks 'right' now. My error log has this:

Code:

I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:17 -0800] Listening to 7f000001:631
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:17 -0800] Loaded configuration file "/etc/cups/cupsd.conf"
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:17 -0800] Configured for up to 100 clients.
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:17 -0800] Allowing up to 100 client connections per host.
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:17 -0800] Full reload is required.
E [28/Dec/2005:16:38:17 -0800] LoadAllClasses: Unable to open /etc/cups/classes.conf - No
such file or directory
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:18 -0800] LoadPPDs: Read "/etc/cups/ppds.dat", 4104 PPDs...
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:18 -0800] LoadPPDs: No new or changed PPDs...
I [28/Dec/2005:16:38:18 -0800] Full reload complete.

I can now access the web admin page from my server, so i will try to see if I can set it up to show my printer via samba.

gradedcheese 29th December 2005 02:56

I just wanted to say that everything is working and the problems were indeed typos on my part. Thanks for your help! Now I need to figure out why Windows won't load the driver for the printer, even from the HP CD. However the samba/cups side seems to be working fine.

dpsxl 7th March 2006 12:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by gradedcheese
I just wanted to say that everything is working and the problems were indeed typos on my part. Thanks for your help! Now I need to figure out why Windows won't load the driver for the printer, even from the HP CD. However the samba/cups side seems to be working fine.

Did you find the solution to this problem? I'm having the same problem.

My printer is printing fine on the linux side. When I tried to print from the XP Pro machine it says "wrong drivers for this printer." I've tried installing the drivers from the XP machine, but won't accept the them.

till 7th March 2006 12:22

Which driver do you select on linux (cups) and which on windows?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:24.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.