HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Typo3 and ISPConfig (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1729)

linuxuser1 19th December 2005 12:09

Typo3 and ISPConfig
 
Hi all,

I am trying out Typo3 on a debian server with ISPConfig and lost as to how to make the Typo3 works. In the example I read on Typo3 docs, it says the Typo3 docs should be extracted into apache/htdocs but all my web files are in /var/www/nameofwebsite.

Do I need to create a web site using ISPConfig and unzip the Typo3 to the web folder for Typo3 or do I need to just create a folder in /var/www/typo3 and unzip the file there.

What I want is to be able to access the Typo3 web site by say localhost/typo3 or www.mytypo3.com ?

Helps will be appreciated.

Thanks.

falko 19th December 2005 12:19

You create a normal web site using ISPConfig, and then you install Typo3 in the /var/www/<nameofwebsite>/web folder.
If you want Typo3 to use ImageMagick, then you have to turn off PHP Safe Mode for that web site.

linuxuser1 19th December 2005 12:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
If you want Typo3 to use ImageMagick, then you have to turn off PHP Safe Mode for that web site.


Thanks for your quick response.

But how do I do this. Is it from ISPConfig or where. Sorry this may be a stupid question but still relatively new to Linux and just trying to find my feet.

Thanks.

falko 19th December 2005 12:30

How do do what? Install Typo3? Just as the Typo3 documentation says. After ISPConfig has created the web site and the folders, you can forget about ISPConfig and concentrate totally on Typo3.

linuxuser1 19th December 2005 12:38

Thanks falko what i mean is I "do turn off PHP Safe Mode for that web site" because it is requirement to use ImageMagick.

Many Thanks.

falko 19th December 2005 14:14

You can turn off PHP Safe Mode in ISPConfig for each web site. There's a checkbox for it.

jaffaizal 16th February 2006 17:07

Integration with TYPO3
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
You create a normal web site using ISPConfig, and then you install Typo3 in the /var/www/<nameofwebsite>/web folder.
If you want Typo3 to use ImageMagick, then you have to turn off PHP Safe Mode for that web site.

Falko, my check with the "Vhosts_ispconfig.conf" shows the following:

========================================truncated

<VirtualHost 192.168.0.98:80>
ServerName www.mileswork.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@mileswork.com
DocumentRoot /home/www/web12/web
ServerAlias mileswork.com

========================================truncated

1. So, do I follow what you said or do I install typo3 in the above "DocumentRoot"?
2. Why is the "DocumentRoot" at "/home/www/web12/web" and not "/home/www/mileswork/web"?
3. How can we ensure that it is pointing to "/home/www/mileswork/web" during registration of client/site in ISPconfig?
4. Would it be easier if I was to install typo3 1st then install ISPconfig?

Note,
Installation on SUSE Pro 9.3

Thanks for your help
Jaf Faizal
Malaysia

till 16th February 2006 19:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaffaizal
Falko, my check with the "Vhosts_ispconfig.conf" shows the following:

========================================truncated

<VirtualHost 192.168.0.98:80>
ServerName www.mileswork.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@mileswork.com
DocumentRoot /home/www/web12/web
ServerAlias mileswork.com

========================================truncated

1. So, do I follow what you said or do I install typo3 in the above "DocumentRoot"?

Thats equal. Please see 2)

Quote:

2. Why is the "DocumentRoot" at "/home/www/web12/web" and not "/home/www/mileswork/web"?
/home/www/mileswork.com/web is a symlink to the directory /home/www/web12/web for easier system configuration.

Quote:

3. How can we ensure that it is pointing to "/home/www/mileswork/web" during registration of client/site in ISPconfig?
ISPConfig creates the fo÷lders and symlinks for you automaticall. But its /home/www/mileswork.com/web or /home/www/www.mileswork.com/web and not /home/www/mileswork/web.

Quote:

4. Would it be easier if I was to install typo3 1st then install ISPconfig?
No, you cant install Typo3 in an non existant directory. The directorys where created by ISPConfig when you create a website.

jaffaizal 17th February 2006 10:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Thats equal. Please see 2)



/home/www/mileswork.com/web is a symlink to the directory /home/www/web12/web for easier system configuration.



ISPConfig creates the fo÷lders and symlinks for you automaticall. But its /home/www/mileswork.com/web or /home/www/www.mileswork.com/web and not /home/www/mileswork/web.



No, you cant install Typo3 in an non existant directory. The directorys where created by ISPConfig when you create a website.

Till, therefore, I install typo3 into /home/www/web12/web ?

Thanks,
Jaf Faizal

falko 17th February 2006 11:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by jaffaizal
Till, therefore, I install typo3 into /home/www/web12/web ?

Thanks,
Jaf Faizal

Yes, that's right.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.