HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Xen installation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1674)

butterfly 14th December 2005 09:42

Xen installation
 
Hi, I am trying to install Xen and followed your howTO. when I come to the part where I have to excute:

chroot /vserver/vm_base

I get a the following:

chroot: cannot run command '/bin/bash' : no such file or directory.

Is there a work around this problem?

Thanks

falko 14th December 2005 10:11

It seems as if bash is missing in your vserver image... Never had this before. I suggest that you run
Code:

apt-get install bash
after
Code:

apt-setup
and
Code:

apt-get update

butterfly 14th December 2005 13:22

Xen
 
Hi Falko,
I have bash installed from before and when I did.

apt-get install bash

it said that bash was already the newest version. I think it has to do with the chroot enviroment needing /bin/bash somewhere under /vserver/vm_base

I don't know what to do

Thanks

falko 14th December 2005 13:44

When you run
Code:

chroot /vserver/vm_base
you should be chrooted to /vserver/vm_base, and then you should try to install bash.

butterfly 14th December 2005 14:03

Xen
 
Hi Falko,
It is chroot command I am having difficulty with. When I try the command

chroot /vserver/vm_base

I get the same result which says:

chroot: cannot run command '/bin/bash' : no such file and directory.

I went on regardless of the warning and tried to install bash again and got the same result:

bash is already the newest version.

I experienced this on two different machines I tried to install Xen by following your HowTo and another Howto. The same thing happens all the time interms of chroot command no matter how many times I re-installed the OS.

Thanks

falko 14th December 2005 14:19

Hm... Did you use Debian stable? In the tutorial I use Debian stable.

butterfly 14th December 2005 14:26

Xen
 
Yes, I use debian sarge as the base OS (dom0) and installed Xen 3.0 instead of xen-2.0.7. I used another mirror that is close to me (ftp.no.debian.org) than ftp2.de.debian.org/debian to debootstrap the guest OS (xenU) .


Thanks

falko 14th December 2005 14:54

I haven't tried Xen 3 yet, so that might be the reason...

butterfly 14th December 2005 15:17

Xen
 
Ok Falko, I will try 2.0.7 and see how it goes.

Thanks alot for the help. I will let you now about it if I encounter any difficulties.


ThanX


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.