HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   testing web site by its external ip address (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1541)

rosa hsiao 5th December 2005 13:48

testing web site by its external ip address
 
1) I can visit user's web site by typing

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/users/web07_user01"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/~web07_user01"

But, why can't I visit its virtual web site by typing

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?


2) In DNS Manager of ISPConfig, the hostname is www and SOA is example.com, IP Address is pointed to external IP at 203.79.xxx.xxx.

If www.example.com is acting as DNS server for virtual web site www.example2.com,do I need to put example.com as SOA instead of example2.com?

till 5th December 2005 14:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by rosa hsiao
But, why can't I visit its virtual web site by typing

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?

Because ISPConfig has no rules for mod_rewrite for these access scenarios. You can add custom rewrite rules in the apache directives field.

rosa hsiao 6th December 2005 02:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Because ISPConfig has no rules for mod_rewrite for these access scenarios. You can add custom rewrite rules in the apache directives field.

I am not quite familiar with Apache directives. Can you tell me how to rewrite the rules to achieve the above goal by typing:

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?


I just want to test that the newly created virtual web site and its users' webmails at www.virtualdomain07.com are ok before I move the virtualdomain07 from another external IP to 203.79.xxx.xxx.

"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/web07/web"
or
"http://203.79.xxx.xxx/web/www.virtualdomain07.com"?

falko 6th December 2005 10:16

http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/misc/rewriteguide.html

But I don't understand why you want to do this...

Let's says the document root is /var/www/web7/web. So normally, when you type www.example.com, you're in the web directory. What want to do is: you want to type www.example.com/web7/web to be in the web directory... Doesn't make any sense to me... :confused:

rosa hsiao 6th December 2005 10:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
http://httpd.apache.org/docs/1.3/misc/rewriteguide.html

But I don't understand why you want to do this...

Let's says the document root is /var/www/web7/web. So normally, when you type www.example.com, you're in the web directory. What want to do is: you want to type www.example.com/web7/web to be in the web directory... Doesn't make any sense to me... :confused:

Because www.example.com is an active web site now and assigned to another IP address at 203.79.xxx.101. I am planing to move all virtual web sites from 203.79.xxx.101 to 203.79.xxx.102 which can be fully controled by ISPConfig. Now I have setup ISPConfig successfully and created DNS records for www.example.com at 203.79.xxx.102. Everything seems to be OK in INTRANET.

I just want to test from remote computer via INTERNET to see if the site www.example.com at 203.79.xxx.102 will be running OK before I change its DNS Server to 203.79.xxx.102.

gmg 8th January 2006 03:10

I really would like an answer to this question myself.
Is there anyway to preview a website before the dns propagates.

I'm in the middle of a server move and there are a few of the sites with scripts that I would like to make sure are working before I point the domains to the new server.

falko 8th January 2006 18:57

You can edit the hosts file on your Windows workstation, as described here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...24&postcount=3

disasm 12th January 2006 19:37

not sure if this is the recommended way to do it, but I edit my resolv.conf (or if on windows change domain server) to be my server, rather than my isp's servers. This forces it to ask my ispconfig server what domains map to what ip addresses.

heftigrat 12th January 2006 20:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
You can edit the hosts file on your Windows workstation, as described here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...24&postcount=3

I'm not sure this really answers the original question.

falko 12th January 2006 21:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by disasm
not sure if this is the recommended way to do it, but I edit my resolv.conf (or if on windows change domain server) to be my server, rather than my isp's servers. This forces it to ask my ispconfig server what domains map to what ip addresses.

This doesn't help you if you're on a client machine and want to access the server. You have to do the changes on the client, not the server.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.