HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   About 2nd NIC (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15000)

satimis 23rd August 2007 08:29

About 2nd NIC
 
Hi folks,


Host OS - Ubuntu 7.04 lamp server amd64
VMWare license.vs.1.0-00
Guest OS to be installed - OpenBSD, Slack


Ubuntu is now running on this server and undergoing fine-tuning

/etc/network/interfaces
Code:


# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.10
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.0.1


Do I need adding a 2nd NIC?

If YES what shall I add on;
/etc/network/interfaces
Code:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The management network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 192.168.0.10
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.0.1


# The VMs network interface
auto eth1
iface eth1 inet static
        address ???
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        gateway 192.168.0.1

If NO, can Guest OSs share the NIC/broadband with the Host OS? TIA


B.R.
satimis

chuckl 23rd August 2007 09:40

VMWare guest OS installs are virtual machines. They behave as though they are installed on a completely separate computer/environment.
When you create a new Vm in which to install the Guest OS, it asks whether you want the network connection to be bridged, NAT or shared/host.
Simplistically, bridged allows the Guest OS to appear to have it's own IP address, either from DHCP or static, connected to the local network subnet.
NAT is similar, but can do address translation, and shared uses the host computers IP address. All use the existing NIC on the host computer.
While experimenting, I would suggest bridged, which simply makes it appear like another machine on your local network.
I've never tried it, but I'm sure you could install a second NIC on the host, and use that for the VM's, but I've never found it necessary.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:16.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.