HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   customer's subdomains (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14730)

t-mug 14th August 2007 11:56

customer's subdomains
 
Hi,

please can someone tell me what the most recommended way is giving customers the possibilty to create their own subdomains?

I've read here around that this has to be done by creating a new website. But this can only the admin do, or am I wrong? So customers would have then to ask me for creating their subdomains? And by this way: how can I manage customer based quota, traffic and so on, if this there is one sold webpackage (with subdomains included) only?

Thanks for help

t-mug 15th August 2007 12:21

Hmm, is my question that absurd??

falko 15th August 2007 18:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by t-mug
I've read here around that this has to be done by creating a new website.

If the subdomain should contain a web site of its own, then this is right. But if the subdomain should point to the same web site, it can be created on the Co-Domains tab (by the customer).

Quote:

Originally Posted by t-mug
And by this way: how can I manage customer based quota, traffic and so on, if this there is one sold webpackage (with subdomains included) only?

Customer-based quota does not work, because customers are no system users. They exist only in ISPConfig.

ghesty 16th August 2007 13:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
If the subdomain should contain a web site of its own, then this is right. But if the subdomain should point to the same web site, it can be created on the Co-Domains tab (by the customer).

Please, can you make some examples? :o

falko 16th August 2007 14:12

Let's assume you have a web site www.example.com. Now you'd like to have a subdomain sub.example.com that points to the www.example.com web site. In this case you simply create sub.example.com as a Co-Domain for the www.example.com web site in ISPConfig.

If sub.example.com should point to a web site of its own (instead of to www.example.com), then you must create a new web site in ISPConfig and use sub.example.com for that web site.

ghesty 16th August 2007 14:22

Just to not make duplicates in the forum: in this thread there is my example (#3)
http://www.howtoforge.org/forums/showthread.php?t=14620

I created the new domain, but there would be an error somewhere... :confused:

Thanks for the quick reply ;)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.