HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   httpd.conf not ok! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=138)

m u r 28th July 2005 07:32

httpd.conf not ok!
 
I am new to this whole thing, but I followed this tutorial to set up a server: http://www.falkotimme.com/howtos/per..._debian_sarge/

the installation of ISPConfig was doing just fine until the very end when it checks to see if all the packages are installed. I get the following error -- can anyone help?

ERROR: The syntax of your httpd.conf is not ok! Please correct the error. The installation routine stops here!

Much obliged.

falko 28th July 2005 12:20

Run

Code:

httpd -t
to check the syntax of your httpd.conf. You should then get a message telling you what's wrong.
Is your Apache running right now? I guess not because of the errors in httpd.conf...

Tribal-Dolphin 28th July 2005 14:24

Debian 3.1
 
Some errors with Debian Sarge.

If we install apache package or apache2 package we have an error "The syntax of your httpd.conf is not ok!"

The command httpd -t don't work BUT apache -t OR apache2 -t work and the result is Syntax OK.

I think there is an error in setup2. It test only httpd and stop on error. It don't test apache or apache2 command.

till 28th July 2005 14:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tribal-Dolphin
Some errors with Debian Sarge.

If we install apache package or apache2 package we have an error "The syntax of your httpd.conf is not ok!"

The command httpd -t don't work BUT apache -t OR apache2 -t work and the result is Syntax OK.

I think there is an error in setup2. It test only httpd and stop on error. It don't test apache or apache2 command.

Before the setup2 scripts performs the httpd -t check, ISPConfig creates a symlink "httpd" that
points to apache or apache2 on debian, depending on what is installed.

Is the symlink "/usr/bin/httpd" created correctly by the ISPConfig setup setup2 script (line 534- 561)?

Till

falko 28th July 2005 14:49

Quote:

I think there is an error in setup2. It test only httpd and stop on error. It don't test apache or apache2 command.
That's not correct. setup2 checks if there is a httpd, httpd2, apache or apache2, and creates a symlink called httpd if necessary:

Code:

echo
  echo "########## WEB SERVER ##########"
  echo
  which httpd > /dev/null
  if [ $? != 0 ]; then
    which apache > /dev/null
    if [ $? == 0 ]; then
      ln -s `which apache` /usr/bin/httpd
    fi
    which apache2 > /dev/null
    if [ $? == 0 ]; then
      ln -s `which apache2` /usr/bin/httpd
    fi
  fi

  echo $q_httpd_check
  which httpd
  if [ $? != 0 ]; then
    which httpd2
    if [ $? != 0 ]; then
      error "httpd not found!";
    else
      ln -s `which httpd2` /usr/sbin/httpd
      echo OK
    fi
  else
    log "httpd found: `which httpd`"
    echo OK
  fi
fi  ## install_art == install

  echo $q_httpd_syntax_check
  httpd -t
  if [ $? != 0 ]; then
    error "$q_httpd_syntax_check_not_ok";
  fi
  echo $q_httpd_syntax_check_ok
  log "httpd syntax ok!"

After the installation, you should have a program "httpd", be it a binary or a symlink to httpd2, apache or apache2. You can check with

Code:

ls -l `which httpd`

Tribal-Dolphin 28th July 2005 14:50

I test 3 times today, he don't create it. I've always this error after accept the license :

./setup2: line 617: httpd: command not found

Near this line, i see the ligne where the symlink is created but it doesn't :(

till 28th July 2005 14:57

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tribal-Dolphin
I test 3 times today, he don't create it. I've always this error after accept the license :

./setup2: line 617: httpd: command not found

Near this line, i see the ligne where the symlink is created but it doesn't :(

Have you run the ISPConfig setup as root user?
Can you create the symlink manually and try to run the ISPConfig install script again?

Tribal-Dolphin 28th July 2005 15:08

Yes, I run the ISPConfig setup as root

I will reinstall my debian sarge box with this howto tonight and i retest the installation.

falko 28th July 2005 15:09

Code:

I test 3 times today, he don't create it. I've always this error after accept the license :

./setup2: line 617: httpd: command not found

Near this line, i see the ligne where the symlink is created but it doesn't

Is httpd, httpd2, apache or apache2 located in your PATH? Run
Code:

echo $PATH
to see what your path is.

Then run
Code:

which httpd
which httpd2
which apache
which apache2

to see if any of these programs is in your path.

Tribal-Dolphin 28th July 2005 23:35

Great
 
You find the error.
The path was'nt in $PATH.

Thanks a lot.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:03.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.