HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Some Problems (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1371)

eldamario 23rd November 2005 14:32

Some Problems
 
Hi!
i have installed my server in the "Perfekt fedora core 4 server installation" how to. the installation went easy but im experiencing some problems.
First thing is the dynamic ip.
i have set my hostname and domain name so it should be server.eldamar.net
but i cant connet to this adress...
the ip works perfectly...

This is my ifconfig:
Quote:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:90:68:CE
inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::202:44ff:fe90:68ce/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:829093 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1037814 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:280622 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:103835511 (99.0 MiB) TX bytes:1354550267 (1.2 GiB)
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xc800

eth0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:44:90:68:CE
inet addr:192.168.0.100 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
Interrupt:5 Base address:0xc800

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:348636 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:348636 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:2732124303 (2.5 GiB) TX bytes:2732124303 (2.5 GiB)

im not a very experienced linux user and dont know much about network in general.

and i have a problem with the characters on the homesite. it wont recognise swedish characters like "едц". iv'e looked into the httpd.conf and everything seems to be in order, but im not sure.

Thanks for the great How-to

falko 23rd November 2005 14:51

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1358

Quote:

Originally Posted by eldamario
and i have a problem with the characters on the homesite. it wont recognise swedish characters like "едц". iv'e looked into the httpd.conf and everything seems to be in order, but im not sure.

That's normal in Fedora, I have the same behaviour (in other distributions everything is fine). I once found a tutorial on how to fix it, but I don't know the URL anymore...:(

eldamario 23rd November 2005 15:49

ah okey.. :(

about the dynamic ip.
all the listed ports are open to the server but i can still not connect to it.
and i cant connect to it in local network either, shouldent this work without router ports open?
do i have to register the dns somewere in order to connect to it?

Treo 23rd November 2005 16:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by eldamario
ah okey.. :(

about the dynamic ip.
all the listed ports are open to the server but i can still not connect to it.
and i cant connect to it in local network either, shouldent this work without router ports open?
do i have to register the dns somewere in order to connect to it?


You can read about the characterproblem here:
http://se.linux.org/kommunikation/fo...02/forum_topic

Connecting locally like "theserverslocalip:80" doesnt work ?
If you have a firewall the port 80 must be opened and pointing to the servers local ip to get a connection from outside.
Are the Apache running..? in console type ps ax and watch for a apache process.

eldamario 23rd November 2005 16:47

I think apache is running becouse the ip works: http://81.225.40.224/
but it doesnt work to type http://server.eldamar.net

ps ax:
Quote:

2212 ? Ss 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2217 ? S 0:00 /root/ispconfig/cronolog --symlink=/var/log/httpd/isp
2244 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2245 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2246 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2247 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2254 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2255 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2256 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd
2257 ? S 0:00 /usr/sbin/httpd

falko 23rd November 2005 19:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by eldamario
I think apache is running becouse the ip works: http://81.225.40.224/
but it doesnt work to type http://server.eldamar.net

Because server.eldamar.net doesn't exist in DNS! You have to create an A record for server.eldamar.net pointing to 81.225.40.224.

Treo 24th November 2005 01:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Because server.eldamar.net doesn't exist in DNS! You have to create an A record for server.eldamar.net pointing to 81.225.40.224.

Create an account http://www.dyndns.com/ pointing to your ip funkar :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.