HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   quick noob question: hostname for my 1st LAMP? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13643)

1jackjack 25th June 2007 15:01

quick noob question: hostname for my 1st LAMP?
 
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_server_fedora7

when installing linux (1st page), we are filling in network settings for a static ip.
Im running a dual partition; windowsXP and Fedora7, and already have a static ip on the XP partition. Should I use the same details (ip/subnet/gateway/dns) on fedora? And for my 1st LAMP system (used to practise my PHP/MySQL using my own Apache server), what should I put for my hostname (the HOWTO puts server1.example.com)? Can I just use that?

Thanks

zcworld 25th June 2007 16:08

if its apart of a bigger network than u would set it
but i would leave it to the DHCP to set
but thats me

1jackjack 25th June 2007 16:57

are you saying i don't have to setup a static ip to run my own apache server?

no.. it's not part of anything bigger, just me, in my bedroom...

zcworld 25th June 2007 17:13

i would use an static IP
make sure if u got an dhcp router
that its out of the IP address pool
the router gives out
static IP make life a heap easyer
when u got like 3 or more servers running at once ;)

1jackjack 25th June 2007 17:57

I appreciate your help, but do you have an answer to my original problem?
I'm installing Linux, and it wants network settings. If I'm setting up my own apache server, do I enter a specific hostname here, or can it be anything?

Thanks

xrayolc 25th June 2007 18:26

put in there anything you want :)

call it server.myhome.com or some phantasyname - be creative ;)

i would also assign a static ip out of range of the dhcp-range, easy to keep in mind (192.168.1.100 or something - depends onyour network configuration).
As your win seems to be on the samemachine youcan also use the same ip, as you prefer....

1jackjack 25th June 2007 18:56

u da man. thanks for your help.

so what is the step you need to take to allow anyone on the internet to access your servers files?

gratzi

zcworld 26th June 2007 03:28

step one
open port 80 in ur router
than forward the port 80 to ur linux box
step two
check the linux firewall to make sure that you got open 80 open
( i think u gotta do that )

step three get a friend to do the test for you
to see if its working or not

1jackjack 26th June 2007 10:35

what url exactly would a friend use to connect?
cheers.

zcworld 26th June 2007 10:50

if you got an DNS name from like no-ip.org or dyndns.org
that
or if you know your WAN IP that
to find it goto www.whatismyip.com
and to check to see if your port 80 is open goto
www.canyouseeme.org
<it will also tell you your WAN IP>


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.