HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   shared IP with third level domain (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13295)

stefan 9th June 2007 21:56

shared IP with third level domain
 
Hello all :)
I have 4 sites running with two IP 's and there is no problem. Now I want setup a third level domain with another customer (but same domain.tld) and its not working. I create for that a new web:
"host.thirdlevel.domain.tld" and getting the shared IP error and the content is not displayed.
What have I done wrong?


can someone help?

tia
stefan

till 10th June 2007 14:14

Put:

host.thirdlevel in the hostname field and domain.tld in the domain field of the website and make sure that a DNS A-Record for your third level domain exists and points to your server IP address. If you are in a NAT enviroment behind a router, you must select your internal IP adress for the website.

stefan 10th June 2007 15:33

I have no NAT.
I do a simple test and set in DNS a new A record so I have test.domain.tld.
Under my official NAmeserver there is a wildcard entry *.domain.tld and it is resolved successfull.
but when I point the browser to the new host record test.domain.tld then I get the shared IP error.
So what is going wrong? I can not browse to another A record nor have access to host.thirdlevel.domain.tld.

Can someone help?

tia
stefan

stefan 10th June 2007 18:11

I tried it with other domains, too. There is the same. Also using co-domain. It is not possible to use more than one DNS record to reach the website.

Can someone help?

tia
stefan

falko 11th June 2007 14:18

Can you post the output of
Code:

ifconfig
? What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf? (Please don't replace the real IP addresses.)

stefan 11th June 2007 18:38

the conf is to great, so I put it here:

http://paste.ubuntu-nl.org/25114/

and ifconfig

Code:

eth0      Protokoll:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:50:22:39:3D:E2
          inet Adresse:212.144.241.130  Bcast:212.144.241.135  Maske:255.255.255.248
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:61377 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:60216 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenl�nge:1000
          RX bytes:9307336 (8.8 MiB)  TX bytes:15472771 (14.7 MiB)
          Interrupt:5 Basisadresse:0x9400

eth0:0    Protokoll:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:50:22:39:3D:E2
          inet Adresse:212.144.241.131  Bcast:212.144.241.255  Maske:255.255.255.248
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          Interrupt:5 Basisadresse:0x9400

eth0:1    Protokoll:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:50:22:39:3D:E2
          inet Adresse:212.144.241.132  Bcast:212.144.241.255  Maske:255.255.255.248
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          Interrupt:5 Basisadresse:0x9400

eth0:2    Protokoll:Ethernet  Hardware Adresse 00:50:22:39:3D:E2
          inet Adresse:212.144.241.133  Bcast:212.144.241.255  Maske:255.255.255.248
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          Interrupt:5 Basisadresse:0x9400

lo        Protokoll:Lokale Schleife
          inet Adresse:127.0.0.1  Maske:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:54907 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:54907 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenl�nge:0
          RX bytes:4560743 (4.3 MiB)  TX bytes:4560743 (4.3 MiB)

venet0    Protokoll:UNSPEC  Hardware Adresse 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
          UP BROADCAST PUNKTZUPUNKT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          Kollisionen:0 Sendewarteschlangenl�nge:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)

tia
stefan

mlz 11th June 2007 18:52

I have one domain that I use to assign to clients. Here's what I do, I use the host of www, domain of tld.sld.fld (i.e. somedomain.domain.com) in the domain field. This allows me to assign them to the clients without all the hassells, it's just another domain name that way. However it gets screwy mixing the 3 level names with 2 level names, at least in my tests in the past, this could be different now.

falko 12th June 2007 13:45

When I go to http://www.nopanicsystems.net/, I don't see the Shared-IP page. Everything seems to be ok.

stefan 12th June 2007 16:49

ok. I just create again a co-domain with http://test.nopanicsystems.net

and I did a new web with third level domain:

http://www.test.nopanicsystems.net

please, have a look again, then you will see it.


should I show you now the ispconfig_conf?

can you help?

tia
stefan

stefan 12th June 2007 23:21

okay here is the ispconfig_conf when I get shared Ip address error

http://paste.ubuntu-nl.org/25316/

tia
stefan


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.