HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Domain not reachable (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13249)

kreya 7th June 2007 07:20

Domain not reachable
 
hi,
i received an error The URL is not reachable! in the final stage of installation
Please enter your MySQL server:localhost
Please enter your MySQL user: xyz
Please enter your MySQL password: MySQL password
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database: database
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web:192.168.0.1
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: abc.com
The URL is not reachable!

it's asking for the hostname again -please enter the domain:

i can ping server1.abc.com

output of hostname command
server1.abc.com

resolv.conf
search abc.com
nameserver 127.0.0.1
nameserver isp-dns-server
nameserver isp-dns-server


what should i do?

Hans 7th June 2007 07:45

A suggestion
 
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: use the IP-address of your server WITHIN your LAN for the domain name. So if your servers IP is: 192.168.0.1 use that.

Please enter the host name (e.g. www): leave it blank.

Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):
You can use the IP-address of your server WITHIN your LAN for the domain name. So if your servers IP is: 192.168.0.1 use that.

If you are not satisfied with the settings, you can change it later within IPSConfig under Management > Server > Settings.
With the suggested entries, you should be able to continue.

kreya 8th June 2007 07:33

finished installation with domain name : 192.168.0.1

but i couldn't access the ispconfig box from the same machine as well as remotely. it returns an error
could not establish an encrypted connection because certificate presented by 192.168.0.1 has an invalid signature

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...5066#post75066

till 8th June 2007 08:42

Your SSL cert is corrupted. Please create a new cert as described here:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...t=firefox+8182

kreya 8th June 2007 12:04

It works
 
Hi Till,
thank you very much. it works.

kreya 15th June 2007 06:00

before starting ISPconfig Installation ensure you are able to ping www.yourdomain.com. you should get reply from your Static IP. if you get that everything is fine.
if you are not able to ping www.yourdomain.com it's probably because your changes at the domain registrar's end like name server , A record are not updated.

you can also continue the installation using ispconfig server IP and later make the changes but for the changes to take effect it would take few hours.
if u have changed the name servers , A record it may take anywhere from 24 hours to 72 hours. normally it gets updated within 24 hours.



have a nice day:)

TauTau 3rd October 2007 13:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by kreya
before starting ISPconfig Installation ensure you are able to ping www.yourdomain.com. you should get reply from your Static IP. if you get that everything is fine.

After searching, it seems that lots of people have problems with that part of the installation. Explanations about *what exactly* ISPConfig tries to do at that point would probably help in the documentation.

I have the same problem at this point, AND my hostname does ping. Most of the problems here seem to stem from Dyndns domains and local LANs, though I'm trying to set up a standard root-server at an ISP. Only problem I could think of, is that it's on a subdomain obviously: w154.white.fastwebserver.de. I tried every combination of hostname/domain, neither worked.
When I use the official IP of the server for domain (and nothing for host), does that mean I can only reach the interface by IP?

Another question: I don't want to maintain DNS locally, I'd even prefer to have bind not running. Is that possible?

Lars

till 3rd October 2007 13:47

hostname: w154
domain: white.fastwebserver.de

Make sure that you use your internal IP for the website.

Quote:

Another question: I don't want to maintain DNS locally, I'd even prefer to have bind not running. Is that possible?
possible but not recommended as bind is not only used to serve dns records, it is also used to query for dns records and disabling bind will slow down your server.

kreya 3rd October 2007 14:11

Did you create an A record
w154.white.fastwebserver.de pointing to your static IP of the router or the ISP config Box.

If you haven't created yet create one now and it might take upto 72 hrs for the DNS propagation.
ping w154.white.fastwebserver.de and you should get reply from the router or ISPconfig Box.

If you wish to use some other DNS server just fill in the IP address of the DNS server you wish to use or you could use your Internet service provider's DNS server IP instead.

TauTau 3rd October 2007 14:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
hostname: w154
domain: white.fastwebserver.de

that is what I tried of course, as it *is* server/domain name. Didn't work though...

Quote:

Make sure that you use your internal IP for the website.
where? You mean for the ISPconfig webinterface?

Quote:

possible but not recommended as bind is not only used to serve dns records, it is also used to query for dns records and disabling bind will slow down your server.
ok, I understand that. But that would mean, I am just a forwarding DNS server then? And the only benefit would be the caching? Because *my* DNS server never could answer any queries besides the ones for it's own domains (which already does the server I have my domains registered with, which usually is a faster server)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.