HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Creating a new site for an exisiting DNS domain (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13224)

pjdevries 6th June 2007 15:08

Creating a new site for an exisiting DNS domain
 
When creating a new site from the ISP Manager menu, one can check the "Create DNS" and "Create DNS-MX" options, which creates the required DNS entries for the new domain. I guess these entries will be removed automagically as soon as the site gets deleted.

I now have the situation that I first created the DNS entries from the DNS Manager menu (both A and MX records) so I was able to register the domain name. Now (a couple of weeks later) I want to create a new site for that domain. I have two questions:
  1. Do I still need to check the "Create DNS" and "Create DNS-MX" options, although the DNS entries already exist?
  2. If the (obvious) answer to the first question is "no", will the DNS entries still be removed automagically when deleting the site in the future or will they have to be removed manually?

Hans 6th June 2007 16:48

QUESTION 1:
When creating a new site from the ISP Manager menu, one can check the "Create DNS" and "Create DNS-MX" options, which creates the required DNS entries for the new domain. I guess these entries will be removed automatically as soon as the site gets deleted.

ANSWER:
Yes, the DNS entries will be removed automatically.

QUESTION 2:
Do I still need to check the "Create DNS" and "Create DNS-MX" options, although the DNS entries already exist?
ANSWER:
That's not necesarry and if you do so, the old ones are overwritten/updated.

QUESTION 3:
If the (obvious) answer to the first question is "no", will the DNS entries still be removed automatically when deleting the site in the future or will they have to be removed manually?

**EDIT**
ANSWER:
No, the DNS entries will NOT be removed.

pjdevries 6th June 2007 19:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hans
QUESTION 3:
If the (obvious) answer to the first question is "no", will the DNS entries still be removed automatically when deleting the site in the future or will they have to be removed manually?
ANSWER:
Yes, the DNS entries will be removed automatically as well.

So how do you remove a site without deleting the DNS entries?

Hans 6th June 2007 20:41

***EDIT***
If you delete the website, you don't delete its DNS-records within the DNS-Manager.

till 6th June 2007 20:43

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hans
If you delete the website, you also delete its DNS-records within the DNS-Manager, which is not what you want i guess :(.

Hans, sorry to correct you :) When a site is deleted in isp-manager, the dns records in the dns manager were not deleted.

Hans 6th June 2007 20:51

@Till,

I just have tested it and i've to tell you that you're right.
The DNS-records will not be deleted.

@pjdevries & @Till,
Sorry for my mistake this time. Thank you for the correction!

pjdevries 6th June 2007 21:21

Thank you both for the elaborate support.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:16.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.