HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Dns (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12552)

Leszek 7th May 2007 14:29

Dns
 
Hi!

This time I've got two things that bother me.

1)
Recently I've registered a domain name by one of the Polish registrars and was trying to setup my own DNS server to easily manage the needed records for my sites.The server is Bind with ISPConfig-I'm using the ISPConfig Virtual Appliance again.After reading this tutorial I've configured Bind thru the ISPConfig web interface without adding an SPF record.Everything went fine but when I try to add this ISPConfig server to my registrar's DNS I get an error telling me that the specified DNS server isn't configured for my domain.
Port 53 (TCP/UDP) is open on the firewall.I guess that otherwise it wouldn't see the DNS server at all.
The same domain would go for the DNS server and my websites/mail/ftp.

2)
Next I've installed MyDNS with MyDNSConfig on Debian Sarge and it's working without any errors.This howto helped me.Now what do I have to do to configure my domain on that server thru the web-interface ?
After loging in as the admin user I want to add a new zone and I see SOA and some text fields.What would I have to enter here to configure everything right ?

Thanks.

falko 8th May 2007 16:29

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Leszek
1)
Recently I've registered a domain name by one of the Polish registrars and was trying to setup my own DNS server to easily manage the needed records for my sites.The server is Bind with ISPConfig-I'm using the ISPConfig Virtual Appliance again.After reading this tutorial I've configured Bind thru the ISPConfig web interface without adding an SPF record.Everything went fine but when I try to add this ISPConfig server to my registrar's DNS I get an error telling me that the specified DNS server isn't configured for my domain.
Port 53 (TCP/UDP) is open on the firewall.I guess that otherwise it wouldn't see the DNS server at all.
The same domain would go for the DNS server and my websites/mail/ftp.

Do your domains/hostnames resolve correctly when you run a
Code:

dig @localhost domainname/hostname
?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leszek
2)
Next I've installed MyDNS with MyDNSConfig on Debian Sarge and it's working without any errors.This howto helped me.Now what do I have to do to configure my domain on that server thru the web-interface ?
After loging in as the admin user I want to add a new zone and I see SOA and some text fields.What would I have to enter here to configure everything right ?

Thanks.

Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/att...1&d=1178634514

These links might help as well: http://mydns.bboy.net/doc/html/mydns_9.html#SEC9
http://mydns.bboy.net/doc/html/mydns_10.html#SEC10

Leszek 8th May 2007 20:05

1)
I guess so.
dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl returned this:

Quote:

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 13623
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;linux.wloclawek.pl. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN A 84.205.214.107

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns1.linux.wloclawek.org.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns2.netart.pl.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.netart.pl. 772 IN A 85.128.129.10

;; Query time: 1 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(localhost)
;; WHEN: Mon May 7 07:52:27 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 131

and dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl any :

Quote:

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl any
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26501
;; flags: qr aa rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 5, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 2

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;linux.wloclawek.pl. IN ANY

;; ANSWER SECTION:
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN SOA ns1.linux.wloclawek.org.pl. leszek.t.simplusnet.pl. 2007050509 28800 7200 604800 86400
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns1.linux.wloclawek.org.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN NS ns2.netart.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN MX 10 poczta.linux.wloclawek.pl.
linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN A 84.205.214.107

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns2.netart.pl. 538 IN A 85.128.129.10
poczta.linux.wloclawek.pl. 86400 IN A 84.205.214.107

;; Query time: 3 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(localhost)
;; WHEN: Mon May 7 07:56:21 2007
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 226

2) Thanks.I'll take a look.

falko 9th May 2007 18:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Leszek
1)
I guess so.
dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl returned this:



and dig @localhost linux.wloclawek.pl any :

Looks ok. I think you should ask your registrar why they don't accept your nameserver.

Leszek 9th May 2007 21:30

I already did.They just told me that my dns server isn't configured like it should be without advising what the possible solution could be.

falko 10th May 2007 18:38

Hm... Not very helpful. I'd ask them again. They should at least tell you what the problem is so that we can figure out a solution.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.