HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Accessing https://....:81 another way? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1211)

hairydog2 10th November 2005 23:04

Accessing https://....:81 another way?
 
I'm currently working somewhere the sysadmins have a rather restrictive firewall.

I can't reach port 81 of any external sites, and can't VPN out either. Is there a way I can get to port 81 to control my ISPConfig server?

I do have other internet-connected computers I could go via.

hairydog2 10th November 2005 23:07

"import" a mysql database
 
Being new to ISPConfig, when I was transferring a site over to the ISPConfig machine, I hadn't noticed the mysql database tab in ISPConfig, so I set up the database using phpmyadmin instead.

I imported the data, and everything is working, but the mysql doesn't show up in ISPConfig as that user/sites's database.

Is there any way I could make this database attach itself to the correct bit of ISPConfig, or would I have to recreate the database, then export and import the data?

till 10th November 2005 23:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by hairydog2
Being new to ISPConfig, when I was transferring a site over to the ISPConfig machine, I hadn't noticed the mysql database tab in ISPConfig, so I set up the database using phpmyadmin instead.

I imported the data, and everything is working, but the mysql doesn't show up in ISPConfig as that user/sites's database.

Is there any way I could make this database attach itself to the correct bit of ISPConfig, or would I have to recreate the database, then export and import the data?

You will have to recreate the database and import the data to the new DB.

mystix 11th November 2005 14:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by hairydog2
I'm currently working somewhere the sysadmins have a rather restrictive firewall.

I can't reach port 81 of any external sites, and can't VPN out either. Is there a way I can get to port 81 to control my ISPConfig server?

I do have other internet-connected computers I could go via.

i think, it should be possible to give a second IP-adress to the apache of ispconfig. Or am I wrong?

ms

till 11th November 2005 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by mystix
i think, it should be possible to give a second IP-adress to the apache of ispconfig. Or am I wrong?

If you have a second IP address, you can change the httpd.conf of the ISPConfig httpd in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ so that ISPCOnfig will only listen on this IP on port 80 and 443.

rosa hsiao 12th November 2005 03:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
You will have to recreate the database and import the data to the new DB.

If I recreate a new database,ISPConfig will give me a default database named webxx_dbxx. How can I import my original database and change the database name as same as the original one (ex.: members). Otherwise,I have to modify all the php programs to use the new database. That would drive me crazy!

till 12th November 2005 10:09

You cannot modify the database names that ISPConfig creates. If you want to use custom names, you will have to create the databases manually with e.g. phpmyadmin.

hairydog2 12th November 2005 10:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
If you have a second IP address, you can change the httpd.conf of the ISPConfig httpd in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/ so that ISPCOnfig will only listen on this IP on port 80 and 443.

Would this mean compiling Apache all over again? I thought there was a custom version of Apache involved, though I've never been clear why.

mystix 12th November 2005 11:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by hairydog2
Would this mean compiling Apache all over again? I thought there was a custom version of Apache involved, though I've never been clear why.

No you don't have to recompile anything.
ISPConfig has his own apache and you have to make the changes in the httpd.conf of ISPConfigs apache who is located in /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/.

I think the advantage of a second webserver for the controlpanel is that the controlpanel is still rechable in case of problems with the main webserver and you can configure your own webserver the way you want and don't need to consider the special mods and configs for the controlpanel.

ms

rosa hsiao 13th November 2005 03:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
You cannot modify the database names that ISPConfig creates. If you want to use custom names, you will have to create the databases manually with e.g. phpmyadmin.

Do you mean I don't have to use ISPConfig to create database for my website?
If the original database name of my website is called 'members' instead of 'web1_db1',I have to create the database name manually with usual phpmyadmin or mysql command? Under such condition,will ISPConfig still have any control over the database privilege for 'members'?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.