HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Feature Requests (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Support for a Third Name Server (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12087)

sonoracomm 15th April 2007 04:31

Support for a Third Name Server
 
Hi Folks,

Please don't take this as a criticism, just a feature request. ;-)

It would be very helpful to me to be able to have a third nameserver.

In my application, we slave two other high-volume name servers from our ISPconfig machine to keep the load low and make things more secure and reliable. We then point all the domains at the two slave servers...the ISPconfig name server is not even accessible to end-users. My partner calls this a 'hidden' name server.

What I have to do is edit the /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master file by hand. Further, I'm told I have to add the third nameserver at the _top_ of the list of nameservers...in other words, I can't add the third nameserver in the 'manual edits' section.

The problem this creates is this: each time I upgrade ISPconfig, I have to manually edit the file again AND I have to make a change to each domain using the web interface and click 'save' to regenerate each zone file with the third NS. This is quite tedious.

I suspect there is a script I could run to regenerate all of the zone files at once, but...

Thanks for ISPconfig and thanks for listening.

G

falko 15th April 2007 11:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonoracomm
the ISPconfig name server is not even accessible to end-users. My partner calls this a 'hidden' name server.

Did you use one of the "Perfect Setups" to installl your system? Then there shouldn't be any problems with BIND.

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonoracomm
What I have to do is edit the /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master file by hand. Further, I'm told I have to add the third nameserver at the _top_ of the list of nameservers...in other words, I can't add the third nameserver in the 'manual edits' section.

You can modify the template file /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master wherever you want, so you can add a third name server at the top.
The line at the bottom about modifications is for the "real" zone files (after ISPConfig has written them using the /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/pri.domain.master template).

sonoracomm 15th April 2007 23:53

Hi Falko,

There are no problems with BIND. It all works perfectly.

We have purposefully made the ISPconfig server (BIND) unavailable publicly; it's available only to the slaves. That is not the problem.

Furthermore, I know I can edit the pri.domain.master file in the manner you describe. I have been doing it for quite a while now.

The problem is that I have to edit the file _every_time_I_upgrade_ISPconfig_. Then I have to regenerate each zone file as well, which is a tedious process with a large number of domains (I usually just change the TTL and click save on each domain). After an ISPconfig upgrade (I have done several now), the pri.domain.master file is overwritten and _all_ of the zone files are regenerated incorrectly (depending on your perspective).

Again, I realize this feature request may not affect the majority of users, but if it is easy to implement, I ask you to consider it. That's all.

Thanks again,

G

falko 16th April 2007 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonoracomm
The problem is that I have to edit the file _every_time_I_upgrade_ISPconfig_. Then I have to regenerate each zone file as well, which is a tedious process with a large number of domains (I usually just change the TTL and click save on each domain). After an ISPconfig upgrade (I have done several now), the pri.domain.master file is overwritten and _all_ of the zone files are regenerated incorrectly (depending on your perspective).

Ah, ok, now I understand. I've added it to our bugtracker. :)

falko 10th May 2007 15:45

I've fixed this. You can now put your customized templates in the folder /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/customized_templates. These templates override the default templates in /root/ispconfig/isp/conf, and they are saved when you update ISPConfig. :)

sonoracomm 10th May 2007 18:38

Thanks Falko,

Good idea. I'll test this over the weekend.

I created the directory and copied in the modified template.

I assume, I now just upgrade as normal...with 2.2.12? Or do I need to use a different (SVN?) version?

I'll let you know how it goes.

G

falko 11th May 2007 12:48

Quote:

Originally Posted by sonoracomm
I created the directory and copied in the modified template.

I assume, I now just upgrade as normal...with 2.2.12? Or do I need to use a different (SVN?) version?

This will be in the next release. If you want to test it now, you need the SVN version.

dotcom 27th June 2007 07:14

I'm running 2.2.14, I see the customized_templates directory, so I assume the feature is present...

How do we edit this file?

My plesk template looks like this:
<domain>. NS ns1.xxx.net.
<domain>. NS ns2.xxx.net.
<domain>. A <ip>
<domain>. MX (10) mail.<domain>.
<domain>. MX (30) mx1.xxx.net.
<domain>. MX (20) mx2.xxx.net.
<domain>. TXT "v=spf1 a mx ip4:1.2.3.3 ~all"
ftp.<domain>. A <ip>
mail.<domain>. A 1.2.3.4
mail2.<domain>. A 1.2.3.5
webmail.<domain>. A 1.2.3.6

How do I translate this into the correct ISPconfig template?


Thanks for a great product!!!


George

sonoracomm 28th June 2007 02:14

Hi dotcom,

I just updated to the latest (2.2.14) version. Before I did so, I created a /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/customized_templates directory and I copied my (functional, customized) pri.domain.master template file into it. Then I ran the upgrade.

My zone files apparently did not get rebuilt as they still have dates as of the previous upgrade and they look fine. I then modified a domain and it was rebuilt properly using my customized template.

So, my problem looks like it's fixed.

Thanks again for this great product!

G

p.s. Some time ago, I put up a quickie howto on my web site for my own benefit. Maybe someone else might find it useful. http://www.sonoracomm.com/index.php?...rdering=newest


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.