HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   SuSe kernel compile error !! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=12082)

Rangnarok 14th April 2007 04:55

SuSe kernel compile error !!
 
Please help, I am a newbie at Linux, and i have really tried looking into this for 3 days

I am using SuSe10.0 on a host. The ony I can have access to it is remotely, using putty.


I have patched the "2.6.21-rc6" on top of a vanilla 2.6.20 kernel from kernel.org

I have followed your guide on how to compile a kernel on Suse. I have now faced with 2 problems with "make rpm"

1. I can't not find the ".ksyms" file. Those don't have the ".ksyms" part, and i don't have a "find-supplements" either. I skipped this and it seems fine

2. When I do "make rpm", I encounter the following error

Code:

Building target platforms: i386
Building for target i386
error: Failed to rename /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE to /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE: No such file or directory: No such file or directory

I have no idea how to fix this, since your guide is the most helful to date that I can find, and very specific to the system I am using as well.

PLease can you give me some pointer on how to overcome this. Your help is very much appreciated.

Thank you

falko 14th April 2007 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rangnarok
1. I can't not find the ".ksyms" file. Those don't have the ".ksyms" part, and i don't have a "find-supplements" either. I skipped this and it seems fine

I think this applies to SuSE 10.1 and 10.2 only, so that should be ok.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rangnarok
2. When I do "make rpm", I encounter the following error

Code:

Building target platforms: i386
Building for target i386
error: Failed to rename /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE to /usr/src/packages/SPECS/rpm-spec.MQZpNE: No such file or directory: No such file or directory


Maybe you have to modify the SPEC file somewhere (I guess rpm-spec.MQZpNE must be referenced somewhere). If that doesn't help, you can compile the kernel using the traditional way which works for every distribution. I've described that way in the second part of the Fedora kernel tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/kernel_compilation_fedora_p2

Rangnarok 14th April 2007 17:02

Thanks for replyng falko

I followed the guide. After i do "make install" the following appears

Code:

Cannot determine dependencies of module processor. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module thermal. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module fan. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_via. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_sil. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module ext2. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_nv. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid0. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid1. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module processor. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module thermal. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module fan. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_via. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_sil. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module ext2. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module sata_nv. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid0. Is modules.dep up to date?
Cannot determine dependencies of module raid1. Is modules.dep up to date?
Driver modules: ide-disk via82cxxx processor thermal fan 3w_9xxx 3w_xxxx sata_via sata_sil ext2 sata_nv amd74xx raid0 raid1
Filesystem modules:    reiserfs ext3 xfs
Including:      klibc initramfs udev fsck.ext2 fsck.ext3 fsck.reiserfs fsck.xfs raidautorun
Bootsplash:    SuSE (800x600)
9622 blocks

Run lilo now to update the boot loader configuration.
Running lilo...
lilo failed to write the boot record for your system.
The output from lilo is:

Duplicate entry 'boot' at or above line 8 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'

Please check manually that your system has a valid boot record!

I don't know if this could affect anything, but when I tried "/boot/grub/menu.lst", there's no "menu.lst file at all. There are a few files that has "stage1_5" at the end of the file name in that folder

I have done somemore reading, and perhaps i think Grub is not install, because when I do this

Code:

grub
savedefault --default=0 --once
quit

the savedefault command says "Error 27: Unrecognized command"

In "/etc", i can't find "grub.conf" either, only "lilo.conf"

I vaguely remember that grub and lilo are 2 ways of booting, from what i have read since starting this. I am thinking of trying to install grub, but since I only have access to the host REMOTELY by PUTTY, I am not sure if i have a luxury of choosing the kernel to boot to when the mahcine starts up.

Any suggestion please falko ?

Rangnarok 14th April 2007 17:16

It's weird because when I type "grub", it jumps to a windows saying GRUB version 0.97, but when I typed "help", the "savedefault" command is not on the list. I think I have lilo installed instead fo grub. I'll try to figure out howto install a newer version of grub, but please give me suggestions anyway.

Thank you

falko 15th April 2007 11:30

You have lilo installed, not GRUB. Please open /etc/lilo.conf and check if there are duplicate boot entries. If so, remove one of them, close the file and run
Code:

lilo
Afterwards you can reboot the system.

Rangnarok 16th April 2007 15:01

Thanks falko for trying to help

this is the content of my lilo.conf

Code:

# Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Sat Apr 14 16:27:27 CEST 2007

boot = ARRAY(0x8404d44)
root = /dev/sda2
delay = 20
vga = normal
default = Linux
boot = ARRAY(0x8404900)
boot = /dev/sda


image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.21-rc6-default
    label = 2.6.21-rc6-
    append = "splash=silent"
    vga = 0x314
    initrd = /boot/initrd-2.6.21-rc6-default
    root = /dev/sda2


image = /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.20.4-default
    label = 2.6.20.4-de
    append = "splash=silent"
    vga = 0x314
    initrd = /boot/initrd-2.6.20.4-default
    root = /dev/sda2


image = /boot/vmlinuz
    label = Linux
    read-only
    initrd = /boot/initrd
    vga = 0x314


There seems to be no duplicate boot image in the file. Is there something wrong with the second line of this then

[code/boot = ARRAY(0x8404900)
boot = /dev/sda[/code]
as the previous error was
Code:

Duplicate entry 'boot' at or above line 8 in file '/etc/lilo.conf'
I think I am really worrying about is, because I don't have physical acess to the box, just remote control with root access, so even IF I manage to make the box load the new kernel, and it fails, then I will lose the box then ? (unless i call tech support at the host probably). This is why I was looking for a way to safely test the kernel first.

falko 17th April 2007 11:48

Please comment out this line:
boot = ARRAY(0x8404900)Then run
Code:

lilo
afterwards and reboot the system.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rangnarok
I think I am really worrying about is, because I don't have physical acess to the box, just remote control with root access, so even IF I manage to make the box load the new kernel, and it fails, then I will lose the box then ? (unless i call tech support at the host probably).

If it doesn't boot, you'd have to call the tech support (unless your server has a rescue system which allows you to fix the system yourself). Unfortunately there's no way to test a new kernel other than rebooting the system. :(

Rangnarok 17th April 2007 14:10

o h dear, as I feared...

One instruction that I get from a forum is that you can use grub to test out the kernel ? using

Code:

grub
savedefault --default=0 --once
quit

after you have successfully recompiled using "make install" as the last step of the compilation. It is supposed to make the new kernel image the main kernel to boot just 1 times after reboot to see if it works.

do you know anything similar falko ? I would love to try the "lilo" way, but since my recompiling gave some errors (not just the boot problem, but the dependencies of some modules as shown) I got a bit of a cold feet. Will those dependancies be a problem ?

falko 18th April 2007 19:36

Unfortunately I don't know anything similar for LILO... :(

Rangnarok 2nd May 2007 14:57

Thanks falko for trying to help. I have given up on trying to recompile now due to the fear of completely shut down the box

Perhaps in the near future... :) when i knows a bit more about linux.

Thanks


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:45.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.