HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Using Sharp Fonts On A GNOME Desktop (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11972)

hayesben 9th April 2007 15:55

Using Sharp Fonts On A GNOME Desktop
 
Falko

I've followed your instructions on using the MS fonts (as well as copying the Tahoma fonts over to Ubuntu). However, everything goes good until I change over to the Tahoma fonts. What happens is instead of seeing better looking text on the screen, I get block symbols all across the screen (instead of letters/words). At first I thought I had a corrupt font file so I re-copied it again from a different Windows machine and went through the process again and the same result. I'm running Ubuntu v6.10 (not the 7.04 beta release). To get around this I changed things over to Sans with a 8 pt font. Not the same but usable. Any ideas on what would cause this issue and/or is there a possible fix/work around.

Ben

till 9th April 2007 23:04

I guess it is a problem with your locales. Which locale do you use on your linux workstation?

hayesben 10th April 2007 06:36

Till

The locale used is:

en_GB.UTF-8

Ben

falko 10th April 2007 15:35

That's the same locale I use on my system... :confused:
You can run
Code:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
and select iso8859-1 instead of UTF8. Maybe that changes the behaviour.

hayesben 11th April 2007 16:04

Falko

Thanks for the input. I'll re-install v6.10 tonight. I did a Ubuntu v7.04 install and your guide worked flawlessly. But I'll try again with the v6.10 tonight and letcha know it goes (as I want to test something else out as well).

Ben

hayesben 11th April 2007 23:06

Falko

Well, I've re-installed Ubuntu v6.10 onto my computer and followed your How-To and it's worked perfectly this time around. The only thing I can think of is that I missed a step in your How-To which caused this to go haywire a bit. Anyway, thanks for the How-To!

Ben

Chad 26th April 2007 21:01

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
That's the same locale I use on my system... :confused:
You can run
Code:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
and select iso8859-1 instead of UTF8. Maybe that changes the behaviour.

Generating locales...
en_AU.UTF-8... done
en_BW.UTF-8... done
en_CA.UTF-8... done
en_DK.UTF-8... done
en_GB.UTF-8... done
en_HK.UTF-8... done
en_IE.UTF-8... done
en_IN.UTF-8... done
en_NZ.UTF-8... done
en_PH.UTF-8... done
en_SG.UTF-8... done
en_US.UTF-8... up-to-date
en_ZA.UTF-8... done
en_ZW.UTF-8... done
Generation complete.


What do you mean select iso... ?

Where? How? I still show blocks on Tahoma

falko 27th April 2007 14:49

When you run
Code:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
, you can s lect iso8859-1.

Hans 27th April 2007 15:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
That's the same locale I use on my system... :confused:
You can run
Code:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure locales
and select iso8859-1 instead of UTF8. Maybe that changes the behaviour.

That works a little bit different on Ubuntu.

Have a look here for example:
http://blog.andrewbeacock.com/2007/0...locale-on.html

mesibov 13th July 2007 08:13

Another way to sharpen
 
I run Gnome with Verdana 10pt as default font for everything. To my eyes, text looks very clean and sharp if my settings (System/Preferences/Font) are:
Font Rendering: Monochrome
(Details) Smoothing: None
(Details) Hinting: Full.

I wonder how this compares with falko's tweaking and Tahoma?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:14.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.