HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Frontpage 2002 Suse 10 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1167)

mphayesuk 7th November 2005 17:50

Frontpage 2002 Suse 10
 
I have seen a couple of other threads around but no-one has come to an answer as far as I can see.

Can someone give me some pointers to installing frontpage 2002 extentions on my server. I have already got ISPConfig setup and running fully on Suse 10.

I.e. What files I need and what to do with them.

Thanks

till 7th November 2005 18:08

You need the frontpage 2002 server extensions from Microsoft.

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

Microsoft provides some installation instructions in the installer tar.gz file.

mphayesuk 9th November 2005 10:00

Has anyone else done this... if so did you run into any problems.... any pointers you can suggest.

Thanks

mphayesuk 9th November 2005 11:30

I was going to follow this guide but ignore steps 3 and 4 as I have apache2 ... Can anyone see any problems with this guide... would you still have to do step 5 and re-compile and install if apache is already installed... run step 6 as is, but leave the rest out as ISPConfig would create the web sites with frontpage added in right??????

Any guidence on this would be much appreciated.

Thanks

mphayesuk 9th November 2005 11:40

On second thought I will be using the instructions that microsoft give in their frontpage release. As I am not at my server at the moment can someone tell me where apachectl will be if apache was installed in default locations... I am trying to get all the instructions together to save time later on.

So I should get the tar file and extract it to where???? should the install scripts be extracted to the same location????

Thanks

falko 9th November 2005 13:52

I think you should test-run the Frontpage installation on a test system before you break your real system...

I installed Frontpage 2 or 3 years ago, all I remember is it is a mess. I finally got it to work, but don't ask how... :(

falko 9th November 2005 14:00

Wait, I found some installation notes on my file server. :) Maybe they help you:


Quote:

################################################## ##########################
#######################
# Instructions Apache 1.3.27 with Frontpage
################################################## ##########################
#######################
/etc/init.d/apache stop

#rpm -e --nodeps apache-1.3.20-29 mod_php4-core-4.0.6-68 mod_php4-4.0.6-68 mod_ssl-2.8.4-29
rpm -e --nodeps apache-1.3.19-66 mod_ssl-2.8.3-21 mod_php4-core-4.0.4pl1-102 mod_php4-4.0.4pl1-102

rpm -ivh ftp://fr2.rpmfind.net/linux/SuSE-Lin...gdbm-devel.rpm
rpm -ivh ftp://fr2.rpmfind.net/linux/SuSE-Lin...4-544.i386.rpm


cd /tmp
mkdir inst
cd inst

#copy the following to /tmp/inst:
#openssl-0.9.6h.tar.gz
#php-4.2.3.tar.gz
#mod_ssl-2.8.12-1.3.27.tar.gz
#apache_1.3.27.tar.gz
#fp50.linux.tar.Z
#fp-patch-apache_1.3.27
#apache
#php.ini-dist


tar xvfz mod_ssl-2.8.12-1.3.27.tar.gz
tar xvfz openssl-0.9.6h.tar.gz
tar xvfz php-4.2.3.tar.gz
tar xvfz apache_1.3.27.tar.gz
tar xvfz fp50.linux.tar.Z

cp fp-patch-apache_1.3.27 apache_1.3.27/fp-patch-apache_1.3.27

cd /tmp/inst/apache_1.3.27
patch -p0 <fp-patch-apache_1.3.27


cd /tmp/inst/openssl-0.9.6h/
./config
make

cd ../mod_ssl-2.8.12-1.3.27

./configure --with-apache=../apache_1.3.27 --with-ssl=../openssl-0.9.6h --prefix=/usr/local/apache --enable-module=most --enable-shared=max --add-module=mod_frontpage.c --logfiledir=/var/log/httpd --htdocsdir=/usr/local/httpd/htdocs --bindir=/usr/bin --sbindir=/usr/sbin --sysconfdir=/etc/httpd

cd ../apache_1.3.27

make
make certificate
make install

cd /etc/httpd/ssl.key/
cp server.key server.key-with-passphrase
openssl rsa -in server.key -out server.key
chmod 400 server.key

cd /tmp/inst/php-4.2.3

./configure --with-apxs=/usr/sbin/apxs --enable-track-vars --enable-sockets --with-config-file-path=/etc --enable-ftp --with-zlib --enable-magic-quotes --enable-force-cgi-redirect --enable-discard-path

make
make install
cp /tmp/inst/php.ini-dist /etc/php.ini


mv /tmp/inst/frontpage /usr/local/frontpage
cd /usr/local/frontpage/version5.0
./fp_install.sh

# follow the instructions
# don't configure user webs and VHosts
# replace Apache

# adjust httpd.conf
# set Allow Override to All
# maybe further adjustments (PHP)
# edit index pages

vi /etc/httpd/httpd.conf

# copy Apache

cp /usr/sbin/httpd /usr/sbin/httpd.frontpage
cp /usr/sbin/httpd.orig /usr/sbin/httpd

# create Start Stop Script
cp /tmp/inst/apache /etc/init.d
chmod 744 /etc/init.d/apache
/etc/init.d/apache start

# rc configuration Apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/init.d/rc2.d/K04apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/init.d/rc2.d/S21apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/init.d/rc3.d/K04apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/init.d/rc3.d/S21apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/init.d/rc5.d/K04apache
ln -s /etc/init.d/apache /etc/init.d/rc5.d/S21apache

rm -fr /tmp/inst
# install ISPConfig

mphayesuk 9th November 2005 22:43

ok got so far through the install but I cant find apachectl file anywhere... I did a locate on the file and got back

T1-01:/ # locate apachectl
/usr/share/man/man8/apachectl2.8.gz
/usr/share/zsh/4.2.5/functions/_apachectl
T1-01:/ #

Which cant be right or is it..... I have tried

/usr/local but my search on the net said that it would be here under a folder called apache but thats not there either.....

Now I know its installed because I have got all the web pages working ect... through ISPConfig..... Any one have any ideas.

Thanks

till 9th November 2005 22:51

You can have a look in your apache start script in /etc/init.d, the apachectl script must be listed inside.

falko 10th November 2005 00:18

If you have Apache2, it might be apache2ctl...


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.