HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   MySQL Cluster Howto-Lo0 problem (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=11294)

tfunky 11th March 2007 05:38

MySQL Cluster Howto-Lo0 problem
 
Hello,

I've followed the Mysql cluster on Debian Sarge howto and I have a problem that I can't seem to get past.

When I reboot the mysql servers, lo:0 doesn't come back up. I have to do a ifup lo:0

This is what I have in the /etc/network/interfaces on both boxes

<code>
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto lo:0
iface lo:0 inet static
address 192.168.1.107
netmask 255.255.255.255
pre-up sysctl -p > /dev/null

</code>

With the exception of the changed IP address, that's what's in the howto. Also, if I'm thinking it through correctly, the "auto lo:0" line should fire the interface up at boot, right?

Can someone point out what I'm missing here?

Thanks!

Tfunky

martinfst 11th March 2007 11:31

It's probably not lo:0 but eth:0 for the interface name.

tfunky 11th March 2007 18:03

I probably should have given more info.

The clustered database systems are using lo:0 as the to listen to the virtual IP address for the database cluster, so I'm pretty sure that it is supposed to be set up on lo:0. (eth0 is used for the box's real ip address)

That all being said. Shouldn't that commands listed bring up the loopback subinterface (lo:0) at boot?

Thanks!

Tfunky

martinfst 11th March 2007 20:07

Sorry I meant eth0:0.
The lo entry is for 127.0.0.x.

You can have / should have multiple IP's on the eth0 interface. That's where the systems communicate on. localhost is ONLY used inside a system. Thus it's not possible to talk to an external system over lo interfaces.

tfunky 12th March 2007 00:26

hmmmm....

What you're saying makes sense. Maybe there's just an error in the howto?

I'll move it over and to eht0:0 and see if it still works and report back.

Do I still need the dev/null, etc?

Thanks!

Tfunky

martinfst 12th March 2007 08:07

Code:

>/dev/null
just means to discard output. Any response/output of the command in front of the '>' sign is lost. It's sometimes useful to remove the > /dev/null to see the actual output and if oke, add it again. It can hide too much ;)

johN5Five^ 13th April 2007 00:50

Can i knw why the netmask is 255.255.255.255??? why not 255.255.255.0???:confused:

And i setting up a mysql cluster follow the howto..but hving problem..
my virtual ip is 10.100.100.105, what should the netmask be???

sori i m newbie to network stuff:(

falko 14th April 2007 13:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by johN5Five^
And i setting up a mysql cluster follow the howto..but hving problem..
my virtual ip is 10.100.100.105, what should the netmask be???

Try 255.0.0.0.

johN5Five^ 14th April 2007 20:54

Code:

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto lo:0
iface lo:0 inet static
address 192.168.1.107
netmask 255.255.255.255
pre-up sysctl -p > /dev/null

which i wanna understand is ,y the tfunky's conf file, his address is 192.168.1.107 class C. But his netmask is 255.255.255.255 ??? :confused:

Why subnetmask of Class C address not 255.255.255.0 ???

falko 15th April 2007 11:39

Because that IP address is used only on the system itself - it's a virtual loopback device.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.