HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   FTP access with Dreamweaver / FTPclient (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1034)

pjm2211 28th October 2005 17:27

FTP access with Dreamweaver / FTPclient
 
First of all, this was an awesome article and the best How-To I've done yet. Got my webserver up and running and hosting my first site. The web-ftp function works great but I would like to connect to my site directly with dreamweaver or another ftp client but my ftp username/password are not working. I am using the user account that I created as Admin.

Any suggestions would be great as I have reached a bump in the road. I read another thread here that was similar, and the guy said he logged into his admin account, and removed ftp access, saved, and then rechecked ftp access, and resaved, and it worked for him. I tried that but when i uncheck ftp access and save......I go back to it, and it is still checked, it's like it won't let me uncheck ftp access.

Please help...lol

falko 28th October 2005 17:53

First make sure your firewall doesn't block port 21 (FTP) on your ISPConfig box.

Also, have you tried "Passive Mode" in Dreamweaver's ftp settings?

pjm2211 28th October 2005 18:06

I checked my settings and the firewall on ispconfig is actually turned off. I also tried the "passive FTP" on dreamweaver and still no luck.. :(

Lil'Brudder 28th October 2005 18:39

Dreamweaver
 
I use Dreamweaver to connect to my server also, and I haven't had any problems at all. The only thing I set was the domain name, my user name, and the password. I'm not using passive, I'm not using SecureFTP, or anything else, and it works great.

Is your server behind a router? Is port 21 forwarded to the server on the router? Are you using the right username for the site?

kanal42 28th October 2005 19:09

FTP Problems ... here too
 
Hi,

some of my customers have FTP problems. Untill now it looks strange - the can't connect to the server - I can. They can connect to other servers, so no FW problem. Besides they can login (I see in the log) but then they get a timeout, which sounds like act/pass problem too me. I had to switch to active mode, before this never worked. I am just trying to figure out. Here my proFTP conf (deleted all commented lines):

Code:

ServerName                        "Debian"
ServerType                        standalone
DeferWelcome                        off
MultilineRFC2228                on
DefaultServer                        on
ShowSymlinks                        on
TimeoutNoTransfer                600
TimeoutStalled                        600
TimeoutIdle                        1200
DisplayLogin                    welcome.msg
DisplayFirstChdir              .message
ListOptions                        "-l"
DenyFilter                        \*.*/
DefaultRoot                        ~
IdentLookups                        off
ServerIdent on "FTP Server ready."
Port                                21
MaxInstances                        30
User                                nobody
Group                                nogroup
Umask                                022  022
AllowOverwrite                        on
DefaultRoot ~
Include /etc/proftpd_ispconfig.conf

and here the ispconf-part:
Code:

<VirtualHost xx.xx.xx.xx>
        DefaultRoot            ~
        AllowOverwrite          on
        Umask                  002
</VirtualHost>

Any help welcome - I'll check on the proftp site now,

regards maik

kanal42 28th October 2005 19:30

shell access?
 
I don't know, but may the ftp-user must have shell access. As I just read on the proftpd site, the option

Code:

DefaultRoot ~
will make a chroot as soon, as the user logs in, so the ftp-session can run in a kind of sandbox. If the user hasn't got shell access, this might end up in

Code:

$> chroot /dev/null
-> timeout! :). So try it and give the ftp user shell access...then retry. If possible you can check the

Code:

/var/log/auth.log
regards maik

till 29th October 2005 11:46

If you check the "FTP" Checkbox in the site settings, ISPCOnfig gives the FTP user a correct shell. With thsi shell the user can use FTP but not login with SSH.

falko 29th October 2005 18:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by pjm2211
I checked my settings and the firewall on ispconfig is actually turned off. I also tried the "passive FTP" on dreamweaver and still no luck.. :(

Please post the output of
Code:

netstat -tap
I'd like to see if your FTP server is listening only on certain IP addresses such as 127.0.0.1 (localhost).

When you tried to connect with Dreamweaver, did you use your server's IP address or a hostname? If you used a hostname, can you try again with the IP address?

falko 29th October 2005 18:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by kanal42
I don't know, but may the ftp-user must have shell access. As I just read on the proftpd site, the option

Code:

DefaultRoot ~
will make a chroot as soon, as the user logs in, so the ftp-session can run in a kind of sandbox. If the user hasn't got shell access, this might end up in

Code:

$> chroot /dev/null
-> timeout! :). So try it and give the ftp user shell access...then retry. If possible you can check the

Code:

/var/log/auth.log
regards maik

As Till has posted before, you have to enable "FTP Access" on the "Basis" tab of a web site. Then you don't have to give your users shell access.

pjm2211 31st October 2005 15:16

I have given the site FTP access on the basis tab. I've also tried to connnect via ip address as well. No luck thus far. I don't have telnet working so I have to go to my data center to get the netstat -tap, and to check for ftp shell access. Will post my findings.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.