HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Real Name error (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1001)

joostvdl 25th October 2005 16:40

[SOLVED] Real Name error
 
When I try to create a user I get an error when I give a Real Name:

Field: Real Name Only the following signs are allowed: a-z A-Z 0-9 - _ .

I tried:
Joost
Joost van der Locht
JoostvanderLocht
Joost vanderlocht
joost_van_der_Locht.

But all don't work. Only When I don't put a Real name in it, I can create a user.

falko 25th October 2005 18:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by joostvdl
When I try to create a user I get an error when I give a Real Name:

Field: Real Name Only the following signs are allowed: a-z A-Z 0-9 - _ .

I tried:
Joost
Joost van der Locht
JoostvanderLocht
Joost vanderlocht
joost_van_der_Locht.

But all don't work. Only When I don't put a Real name in it, I can create a user.

I've just tried in my ISPConfig 2.1.0 test system and set up a user with the Real Name Joost van der Locht. I didn't have any problems...

joostvdl 25th October 2005 22:23

[solved]
 
After a complete reinstall and using reseller it works now

jonwatson 20th February 2007 17:23

Quote:

Originally Posted by joostvdl
When I try to create a user I get an error when I give a Real Name:

Field: Real Name Only the following signs are allowed: a-z A-Z 0-9 - _ .

I tried:
Joost
Joost van der Locht
JoostvanderLocht
Joost vanderlocht
joost_van_der_Locht.

But all don't work. Only When I don't put a Real name in it, I can create a user.

I just started having this same problem yesterday. This is a working ISPConfig installation that has been running for weeks and has many email users. As of yesterday, however, whenever I try to create a new email user or even edit an existing one, I get the Field: Real Name Only the following signs are allowed: a-z A-Z 0-9 - _ . error.

The only thing I've done to this installation is change the config settings that deal with the "PHP Handler not entered" error from another thread in these forums. I've since reversed that setting back to its original as it didnt' solve my problem. In any case, I'm sure that isn't related to this problem.

How do I get by this problem? Can I disable the check somewhere? I'm the only one entering user names into this installation so I don't need the check.

Thanks!

till 20th February 2007 19:07

Quote:

The only thing I've done to this installation is change the config settings that deal with the "PHP Handler not entered" error from another thread in these forums. I've since reversed that setting back to its original as it didnt' solve my problem. In any case, I'm sure that isn't related to this problem.
It is very unlikely that this is related as the setting is for a complete other PHP configuration and binary.

This problem is most likely not caused by any change made in ISPConfig. Did you update anything on your server or have you changed a locale setting in your linux installation?

jonwatson 20th February 2007 19:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
It is very unlikely that this is related as the setting is for a complete other PHP configuration and binary.

This problem is most likely not caused by any change made in ISPConfig. Did you update anything on your server or have you changed a locale setting in your linux installation?

No updates recently. I generally do a dist-upgrade right after a distro install and then I almost never do one again. Too many breakages involved with whole-sale upgrades.

I'm pretty sure I haven't shelled into this machine at all since the install - just been using ISPConfig to manage things. Something is definitely broken, though.

I looked through my Locale stuff. I'm not really sure what it should look like since I've never had a problem with this before. Considering I am using en_US, do these variables look right?

$LANG = en_US
$LANGUAGE = en_DE:en_US:en_GB:en

Seems odd to have en_DE first in the $LANGUAGE list...?

falko 21st February 2007 23:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by jonwatson
Seems odd to have en_DE first in the $LANGUAGE list...?

Yes, you should change the order.

jonwatson 22nd February 2007 04:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Yes, you should change the order.

Hmmm...didn't help. I ran dpkg-reconfigure locales and only selected en_US (even though I'm Canadian) and I have the same error in ISPConfig.

Can I just disable this check somewhere? I know this problem is somewhere on my system because I have another ISPConfig installation on another box that doesn't have this problem. On this particular box I am the only one creating accounts so I can ensure I know enough not to put any funky characters in usernames..

jonwatson 27th February 2007 13:58

Bump.

I really need to get rid of this check. I cannot add new users to my system. Can you please tell me where it is?

Thanks!

jonwatson 27th February 2007 17:08

Quote:

Originally Posted by jonwatson
Bump.

I really need to get rid of this check. I cannot add new users to my system. Can you please tell me where it is?

Thanks!

Ahhh...more info. It seems that I can create a user with no Real Name as the original poster mentioned. When I do that, I can log on to /mailuser as that user and enter a Real Name without a problem. However, when I go back into the admin interface and try to do something with this user, I get the same error again and have to remove the Real Name to continue on.

This is looking less like a problem with my locales and more like a possible bug.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.