PDA

View Full Version : FC3: apt-get upgrade-dist broke it


domino
8th October 2005, 12:17
I recently ran apt-get upgrade-dist (I think that's the command), and now I can not log into ssh. I think it also broke ISPConfig because all the site have disappeared from the control panel. I can still access all the sites remotely. The only problem I have is that I can not access SSH, meaning it is not running. I have webmin installed and I went into the filemanager to see if sshd and it's config was still around. ssh_config is still there, but sshd is MIA (can not locate). :mad: What can I do if I don't have physical access to the computer? If I had physical access, how can I get SSH back? Any suggestions are welcome.

till
8th October 2005, 12:57
You can try to setup an FC3 system on your workstation with e.g. VMWare and copy the missing SSHD files to your server with webmin.

falko
8th October 2005, 13:41
If you have a rescue system on your server you could boot into that and try to repair the system...

domino
8th October 2005, 14:36
yea, looks like i have copy copy things from another server to it. I don't have a rescue system implimented because I didn't think an openssh update can scew everything up.

What about ISPC? It's still broke and I think it was because of the update. I'll post back in a couple of days with what ever happens.

till
8th October 2005, 15:25
You posted above that the sites have disappeared from the controlpanel. This can only be caused by changes in the mysql database.

domino
8th October 2005, 16:46
You posted above that the sites have disappeared from the controlpanel. This can only be caused by changes in the mysql database.
This is gonna be a fun couple of days :(. Never will I use apt-get again to update a perfectly working Fedora box. From what I rmember when I used apt-get, it did update SSHD. So I blame the updater for that. There's not a "Safe mode with network support" in Linux is there? :confused:

till
8th October 2005, 17:27
The problem is not apt-get. I assume you used the command apt-get dist-upgarde which will try to update to the next fedora version. Instaed using apt-get -u update is save and shows you the packages that shall be updated before the update.

I've updated a fedora 3 box with apt for over a year without problems.

domino
8th October 2005, 22:24
Well damn.. This is my first time to use apt-get and tried to update. I guess it was my fault for not looking into an application more before using it. Nonetheless, it will be my last time to use apt-get on a Fedora or RH system.

domino
12th October 2005, 13:10
Aftet several days of trying to fix my problem without any success, do you think I should go ahead and upgrade to FC4 rather than reinstall FC3? Will it break ISPConfig if I upgrade to FC4?

till
12th October 2005, 14:22
I've never done an distribution upgrade in Fedora with ISPConfig installed. Anyone else tested it?

domino
12th October 2005, 14:29
I'm betting on it will break ISPC. But there is only one way to find out. Will let you know what happened by this weekend. This box is a dev box so not too worried about reinstalling if it doesn't work.