PDA

View Full Version : DNS import zone file and server_name


calocen
22nd February 2012, 23:47
When you import a DNS zone file, NS record are defined by 'server_name' field in 'server' table.

But 'server_name' sometimes is a private hostname or a descriptive value. Not a FQDN reachable from internet.

It results in a failure for this domain.

(the line in dns_import.php)
$sql = "SELECT server_name FROM `server` WHERE server_id=".intval($server_id)." OR mirror_server_id=".intval($server_id)." ORDER BY server_name ASC";

Then, I'm not sure if its a bug or a feature.

Thx in advance.

falko
24th February 2012, 03:06
Can you post the zone file you tried to import so that we can try to reproduce this?

calocen
26th February 2012, 18:47
This is the zone file i'm trying to import.
(test.tld is the fake name for the zone to import, and myisp.tld is the fake domain of our servers)
File are named test.tld

$TTL 900
@ IN SOA ns1.myisp.tld. sys.myisp.tld. (
2012022201 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
14400 ; refresh, seconds
7200 ; retry, seconds
604800 ; expire, seconds
900 ) ; minimum, seconds
;

in 900 NS ns1.myisp.tld.
test.tld. 0 NS ns1.myisp.tld.
test.tld. 0 NS ns2.myisp.tld.

* 900 A 192.168.1.1
mail 900 A 192.168.1.1
www 900 A 192.168.1.1
test.tld. 900 A 192.168.1.1
test.tld. 900 MX 10 mail.test.tld.


And this is the file I get
$TTL 900
@ IN SOA ve101124.ip.myisp.tld. sys.myisp.tld. (
2012022202 ; serial, todays date + todays serial #
14400 ; refresh, seconds
7200 ; retry, seconds
604800 ; expire, seconds
900 ) ; minimum, seconds
;

* 900 A 192.168.1.1
in 900 NS ns1.myisp.tld.
mail 900 A 192.168.1.1
test.tld. 900 A 192.168.1.1
test.tld. 900 MX 10 mail.test.tld.
test.tld. 0 NS ve101124.ip.myisp.tld.
test.tld. 0 NS ve109002.ip.myisp.tld.
www 900 A 192.168.1.1


These are the my server_names as they are defined in my cluster.
I wish to change it for more descriptive names like 'panel 1','panel 2', ...

ve101124.ip.myisp.tld.
ve109002.ip.myisp.tld.


This is external names as they are defined globally for DNS
ns1.myisp.tld
ns2.myisp.tld

Thx, Carlos

falko
27th February 2012, 17:36
I've added this to our bugtracker, so we will check that.