PDA

View Full Version : please help newbie with fedora


seanheng
19th July 2006, 00:06
Hello Everyone

I've been playing with fedora 5 for days now installing and reinstalling looking at how to instructions and I found the one on this site and it was fairly easy to follow and I've done everything I think correct.. the problem I have is I can't seem to be able to view my webpage with the url name in the install I used server.seanhost.com as manual name. I am able to connect to ispconfig site with 192.168.1.110:81 and the website with 192.168.1.110 but can't get on with http://server.seanhost.com:81 or http://server.seanhost.com
I have a netgear router which I've forwarded port 80 and also a no-ip domain which I've forwarded port 80 so why cant I get on the webpage?

thanks in advance

E.L. Hibee
19th July 2006, 05:19
I assume that you own the domain seanhost.com

Have you set up the DNS name in your records for server

i.e.

server A <ipaddress>

If not then it may be useful to look at http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto

falko
19th July 2006, 15:21
server.seanhost.com doesn't exist:

dig server.seanhost.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> server.seanhost.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 19245
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;server.seanhost.com. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
seanhost.com. 10800 IN SOA ns1.seanhost.com. iwe4email.yahoo.com. 2006060802 86400 7200 3600000 86400

;; Query time: 263 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Wed Jul 19 14:20:34 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 93
You must create an A record for it first.

Also, you must forward port 81 from your router to your ISPConfig system.

seanheng
20th July 2006, 05:09
hello

I apologize to sound dumb what is an A record?

falko
20th July 2006, 13:35
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto

seanheng
21st July 2006, 00:57
thanks again for all the helps

I read through the guide on trandition dns but i am still lost on how to connect to the internet with apache i followed the fedora 5 howto and it went in all flawlessly thanks to falko's guide so what do i need to do with the zones and binds ?


thanks

falko
21st July 2006, 13:35
You must create an A record for server.seanhost.com on ns1.seanhost.com (this is the authoritative name server for the domain).
If you run ISPConfig on ns1.seanhost.com, then this one might also help you: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy

seanheng
22nd July 2006, 06:35
hello again

Ok I reinstalled fc5 with the perfect setup and I have domain register at no-ip.com as thewaytruthandlife.net dig thewaytruthandlife.net shows what you posted on the other replies but i dont know how to get my website up still

what am i missing and confused

thanks again for the help im learning

falko
23rd July 2006, 23:45
What exactly is the problem now?
When I connect to http://thewaytruthandlife.net/, I get this in Firefox:

Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at 64.195.72.81:1234.
Seems there's something wrong... Why does it show port 1234?

seanheng
24th July 2006, 04:19
hello again

the reason it says thewaytruthandlife.net:1234 is because i register at no-ip.com and forward port 80 to 1234 on my netgear router but ive opened port 1234 on my router but still doesnt work

falko
25th July 2006, 14:18
You must then forward port 1234 from your router to port 80 on your server.
But you will always see the shared IP page then; you must not forward a domain from no-ip to another domain/IPaddress.
Now thewaytruthandlife.net points to 204.16.252.98:

dig thewaytruthandlife.net

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> thewaytruthandlife.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 27896
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;thewaytruthandlife.net. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
thewaytruthandlife.net. 60 IN A 204.16.252.98

;; Query time: 78 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Tue Jul 25 13:15:20 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 56
and you've forwarded it to 64.195.72.81 (your router). Instead of this, you must change thewaytruthandlife.net's DNS record so that it points directly to 64.195.72.81

seanheng
26th July 2006, 05:11
hello again

sorry to be a bother but where do i find that file to edit for the A record?

ive search and cannot find the one that says thewaytruthandlife.net A 204.*.*

ANSWER SECTION:

Destroyer
26th July 2006, 06:48
Hi guys,

Here are some basics:

The no-ip address thewaytruthandlife.net is missing your subdomain section. It would be somthing like seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net when i look this up i get all the no-ip dns servers:

[root@XXXX ~]# dig seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net

; <<>> DiG 9.3.2 <<>> seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 20642
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 5, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net. 60 IN A 204.16.252.98

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns4.no-ip.com.
thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns5.no-ip.com.
thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns1.no-ip.com.
thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns2.no-ip.com.
thewaytruthandlife.net. 86400 IN NS ns3.no-ip.com.

This therefor is you dynamic ip address 204.16.252.98 if so when looking for your host site you should use http://seanheng.thewaytruthandlife.net

also login to no-ip again and point it to your routers ip address then look below


if you are using a client on your local network to check your home page ensure that its name servers are pointing to the Fedora server as not all DNS severs will hold records for your domain.

if checking from the fedora machine check that the first name server is the ip of its self eg Primary DNS 192.168.1.2 Secondary DNS 203.10.89.7 Note change the IPS to suit.

These actions will for the use of your dns server on the Fedora Server first where hopefully your records are being held.

Note a lot of cheap routers do not like clients being redirected back to its self then to a virtual server

Hope this helps :D

Destroyer
http://www.lacomputers.com.au

seanheng
23rd August 2006, 04:32
hello falko and everyone else trying to help me understand

ok i read the howto on traditional dns so what i get is i need to edit my named.conf
and this is what i did from the default one of the installation
//
// a caching only nameserver config
//
controls {
inet 127.0.0.1 allow { localhost; } keys { rndckey; };
};

zone "." IN {
type hint;
file "named.ca";
};

zone "localdomain" IN {
type master;
file "localdomain.zone";
allow-update { none; };
};
zone "localhost" IN {
type master;
file "localhost.zone";
allow-update { none; };
};

zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "named.local";
allow-update { none; };
};

zone "0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0. 0.0.0.0.0.0.ip6.arpa" I$ type master;
file "named.ip6.local";
allow-update { none; };
};

zone "255.in-addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "named.broadcast";
allow-update { none; };
};

zone "0.in-addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "named.zero";
allow-update { none; };
};
// i added this after reading the howto on traditional dns
zone "72.195.64.in-addr.arpa" IN {
type master;
file "seanhostip.zone";
allow-update { none; };
};

zone "seanhostings.com" IN {
type master;
file "seanhost.zone";
allow-update { none; };
};

include "/etc/rndc.key";


then i created the seanhostip and seanhost zones
seanhost.zone looks like this
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA games.seanhostings.com. root.localhost (
42 ; serial (d. adams)
3H ; refresh
15M ; retry
1W ; expiry
1D ) ; minimum
IN NS games.seanhostings.com
seanhostings.com IN A 64.195.72.81
www IN A 64.195.72.81
games IN A 64.195.72.81

seanhostip.zone looks like this
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA games.seanhostings.com. root.localhost. (
1997022700 ; Serial
28800 ; Refresh
14400 ; Retry
3600000 ; Expire
86400 ) ; Minimum
IN NS games.seanhostings.com.
81 IN PTR games.seanhostings.com.


please help me if i am missing something or is going the wrong way

thanks

falko
24th August 2006, 17:54
What's the exact problem?


$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA games.seanhostings.com. root.localhost (
42 ; serial (d. adams)
3H ; refresh
15M ; retry
1W ; expiry
1D ) ; minimum
IN NS games.seanhostings.com
seanhostings.com IN A 64.195.72.81
www IN A 64.195.72.81
games IN A 64.195.72.81

This should be
$TTL 86400
@ IN SOA games.seanhostings.com. root.localhost. (
42 ; serial (d. adams)
3H ; refresh
15M ; retry
1W ; expiry
1D ) ; minimum
IN NS games.seanhostings.com.
seanhostings.com. IN A 64.195.72.81
www IN A 64.195.72.81
games IN A 64.195.72.81

seanheng
24th August 2006, 23:18
hello falko

the problem with it is that i cant connect to the server with http://www.seanhostings.com or anything with seanhostings.com

i've tried everything

dig seanhostings.com

it doesn't give the result how the howto traditional dns gives

falko
25th August 2006, 06:21
Yes, because you didn't define name servers for the domain and therefore don't have A records:

mh1:~# dig seanhostings.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> seanhostings.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 45444
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;seanhostings.com. IN A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
com. 900 IN SOA a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1156475939 1800 900 604800 900

;; Query time: 191 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Fri Aug 25 05:19:28 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

mh1:~# dig ns seanhostings.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns seanhostings.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 34875
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;seanhostings.com. IN NS

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
com. 894 IN SOA a.gtld-servers.net. nstld.verisign-grs.com. 1156475939 1800 900 604800 900

;; Query time: 2 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Fri Aug 25 05:19:34 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 107

seanheng
25th August 2006, 23:03
hello falko

what is this name server you are talking about i followed what the howto described.. can you give me an example what to do?

thanks

falko
26th August 2006, 02:22
hello falko

what is this name server you are talking about
When you register a domain you have to specify at least two name servers that are authoritative for the domain, and on those name servers you create the DNS records for the domain.
Normally your registrar gives you a web interface where you can manage the name server settings. There you can set new or other name servers.
Also have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto

seanheng
26th August 2006, 05:38
hello falko

so i have to register a domain name like no-ip or godaddy?
isnt the dns howto setup allow me to run something like those sites?

falko
26th August 2006, 15:46
Yes, you must register a domain name.
isnt the dns howto setup allow me to run something like those sites?
It tells you how to manage DNS records with your own name servers, but registering a domain is a totally different thing.

seanheng
26th August 2006, 16:14
hello everyone

I have domains registered at no-ip.com but i do not see anything like the howto setup for godaddy if anyone has set up on no-ip please help me

thank you

seanheng
26th August 2006, 20:30
hello falko

I managed to somehow set up a A record and dig seanhostings.com gives

seanhostings.com. 60 IN A 64.195.72.81

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
seanhostings.com. 85285 IN NS ns5.no-ip.com.
seanhostings.com. 85285 IN NS ns1.no-ip.com.
seanhostings.com. 85285 IN NS ns2.no-ip.com.
seanhostings.com. 85285 IN NS ns3.no-ip.com.
seanhostings.com. 85285 IN NS ns4.no-ip.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
ns1.no-ip.com. 84756 IN A 216.66.37.13
ns2.no-ip.com. 84756 IN A 204.16.252.6
ns3.no-ip.com. 84756 IN A 63.208.74.226
ns4.no-ip.com. 84756 IN A 198.65.102.15
ns5.no-ip.com. 84756 IN A 212.100.249.200

;; Query time: 102 msec
;; SERVER: 64.192.96.5#53(64.192.96.5)
;; WHEN: Sat Aug 26 13:29:58 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 226


my question is how do i get it to show ns1 .. ns1.seanhostings.com

falko
27th August 2006, 17:45
At which registrar did you register seanhostings.com? Does this registrar have a web interface like GoDaddy that allows you to manage your DNS records?

seanheng
27th August 2006, 20:17
falko

i registered at no-ip.com and it has a web that allows me to setup something like www.seanhostings.com ftp.seanhostings.com mail.seanhostings.com

ns1.seanhostings.com is that what you are talking about

falko
28th August 2006, 11:52
Does no-ip.com allow you to register real domain names?

seanheng
29th August 2006, 05:13
falko

i dont really know i believe they do i was able to get A record working

falko
30th August 2006, 16:32
They do - I just checked their web site.

Your domain seems to be working now:

dig www.seanhostings.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> www.seanhostings.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 55850
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.seanhostings.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.seanhostings.com. 60 IN A 204.16.252.98

;; Query time: 213 msec
;; SERVER: 127.0.0.1#53(127.0.0.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Aug 30 14:20:58 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 54