PDA

View Full Version : Robust firewall rules


tom@ttucker.com
13th September 2005, 16:57
Absolutely one of the BEST tools I have found!!

Thanks for all the great work.

Is there a way to set more robust firewall rules with ISPConfig?

For instance, I want to limit access to mysql to only a specific subnet say 198.168.1.224/28 Or allow all traffic from a subnet.

Tom

till
13th September 2005, 17:07
Absolutely one of the BEST tools I have found!!

Thanks for all the great work.

Is there a way to set more robust firewall rules with ISPConfig?

For instance, I want to limit access to mysql to only a specific subnet say 198.168.1.224/28 Or allow all traffic from a subnet.

Tom

You can edit the bastille-firewall config in /etc/Bastille/bastille-firewall.cfg and the master template that ISPConfig uses to generate the config file: /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/bastille-firewall.cfg.master amnually.

If this solution is not flexible enough for you, disable the firewall in ISPConfig and setup another firewall software that is more advanced.

tom@ttucker.com
13th September 2005, 17:14
Thanks for the instantaneous response! WOW!

Will edits to /etc/Bastille/bastille-firewall.cfg be overwritten with an upgrade to ISPConfig?

till
13th September 2005, 17:39
Thanks for the instantaneous response! WOW!

Will edits to /etc/Bastille/bastille-firewall.cfg be overwritten with an upgrade to ISPConfig?

If you update the firewall in the web-interface, /etc/Bastille/bastille-firewall.cfg will be overwritten with /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/bastille-firewall.cfg.master
If you upgrade ISPConfig, both files will be overwritten.

falko
14th September 2005, 02:59
If you update the firewall in the web-interface, /etc/Bastille/bastille-firewall.cfg will be overwritten with /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/bastille-firewall.cfg.master
Therefore you should edit /root/ispconfig/isp/conf/bastille-firewall.cfg.master. :)

rdmandel
10th December 2006, 04:04
I have just started with ISPConfig and it seems to run VERY nicely out of the box, but I am having trouble with passive mode ftp.

Behind a router with ports 49152-65534 opened, uncommented the line in ProFTP conf "PassivePorts 49152 65534", but can not find a way to make the firewall accept a port range. Whatever I try I get a message in German saying the port number must be between 0 and 65000.

To make it work, I have to turn the firewall OFF for ftp, but that worries me, even if I am behind the router with NAT.

Any ideas?

till
10th December 2006, 15:24
You can not open port ranges in the ISPConfig firewall. When your server is behoind a router, you can switch of the ISPConfig firewall.

rdmandel
10th December 2006, 18:35
that's was I figured, but it might be something for future versions. If I were not behind a router, this would be a real problem for ftp passive mode.

thanks for your attention to these forums. You and Falko are really great.

richard

Craig
28th December 2006, 14:01
Totally firewall MySQL and then set up a secure tunnel using Putty.

I use this to great effect using putty and MySQL Administrator.

Normally, from a remote connection, MySQL Administrator can not access various functions, like setting user/passwords and permissions as well as setting startup settings but with a putty tunnel, MySQL Administrator is seen as connecting locally, localhost, so not only are all MySQL Administrator functions and features are enabled but you end up with the most secure MySQL server possible. :)

If anyone wants it, I could add a mini-howto or maybe it should be called a micro-mini-howto as it is only 2 steps. :D

falko
29th December 2006, 16:34
If anyone wants it, I could add a mini-howto or maybe it should be called a micro-mini-howto as it is only 2 steps. :D
That would be great. Maybe you can make it up a little bit, e.g. write a short introduction and something about your motivation so that other people understand easily what this is about. :)