PDA

View Full Version : Bounced emails


dayjahone
7th March 2011, 12:37
I added a second IP to ISPConfig and am getting quite a few messages that cannot be sent to people I was able to send them to previoiusly. Below is the error I am getting:

<recipent email address>: host
recipient mail server[IP address] said: 554 Denied
[CS] (Mode: normal) (in reply to end of DATA command)

falko
8th March 2011, 17:51
Are there any errors in your mail log (in the /var/log/ directory)?

dayjahone
9th March 2011, 12:28
I looked in mail.log and didn't find anything, but I noticed some of this person's emails are getting stuck in the queue and just staying there. I see them when I do mailq but not when I do qshape.

I looked in mail.err and found a bunch that say "queue file write error," but they're all from a different email address. There are also some errors that say "Maximum connection limit reached for ::ffff....."

falko
10th March 2011, 14:23
Please check if your server is blacklisted: http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx

dayjahone
10th March 2011, 14:54
Nope. I checked every IP on the subnet. It was blacklisted a week ago but was quickly removed from all blacklists. My mailq continues to fill up and emails just seem to get stuck in there. all email are sent from "MAILER-DAEMON" or the one user on the second IP address.

falko
11th March 2011, 15:35
or the one user on the second IP address.
Does the MX record of the domain point to a different IP?

Did you run postqueue -p? In the output you should find the reasons why mails aren't delivered.

Do you have an SPF record for your domain?

dayjahone
11th March 2011, 15:47
I tried to run postqueue -p but it doesn't give me any more information than mailq:

(connect to [recipient email][recipient IP]:25: Connection refused)

MX record points to the same IP.

I do not have an SPF record for either IP addresses.

falko
12th March 2011, 11:12
Hm, I guess your server is somehow blacklisted (maybe the recipient servers use blacklists that are not covered by http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx ).

You should also create SPF records for your domains.

dayjahone
12th March 2011, 17:36
How do I create SPF records?

falko
13th March 2011, 12:51
The wizard at www.openspf.org/wizard.html tells you what you need to add to your BIND configuration (in case you run your own nameservers).

dayjahone
13th March 2011, 15:52
Thanks, Falko. I followed the steps, and pardon my ignorance, but how do I do this:


If you run BIND

Paste this into your zone file:
mail.domain.com. IN TXT "v=spf1 a ~all"

falko
14th March 2011, 12:59
Do you run your own nameservers, or where are your DNS records hosted?

dayjahone
14th March 2011, 14:03
Yes, it's all based on the perfect setup tutorial for ubuntu.

falko
15th March 2011, 14:33
There's an example how to create an SPF record with ISPConfig 2 at the bottom of this page: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_providerdomain_schlund