FatalError
11th September 2009, 23:39
I saw one how-to covering this, but it didn't look the same as my SpamSnake setup. Anyway here is my issue:
One of our vendors is being rejected on an SPF check.
Someone told me that they had very recently changed ISPs.
Here's a log entry from Postfix:
Sep 10 15:25:21 spamsnake postfix/smtpd[24756]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from unknown[their.ip.addr.here]: 450 4.7.1 <myuser@mydomain.com>: Recipient address rejected: SPF-Result=mail.theirmailserversdomainname.com: 'SERVFAIL' error on DNS 'SPF' lookup of 'mail.theirmailserversdomainname.com'; from=<theiruser@theirdomain.com> to=<myuser@mydomain.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<mail.THEIRMAILSERVERSDOMAINNAME.COM>
Maybe they haven't updated their SPF record after the ISP change?
Anyway, is there a way to whitelist their domain(s) in Postfix so my users can receive mail from them?
UPDATE: after checking a few online dns query sites, I have determined that there is NO SPF record for either of their domain names. This doesn't sound right...
If anyone wants a crack at this, their email server's name is mail.cbsinsne.com and their email address domain is fainsgroup.com.
One of our vendors is being rejected on an SPF check.
Someone told me that they had very recently changed ISPs.
Here's a log entry from Postfix:
Sep 10 15:25:21 spamsnake postfix/smtpd[24756]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from unknown[their.ip.addr.here]: 450 4.7.1 <myuser@mydomain.com>: Recipient address rejected: SPF-Result=mail.theirmailserversdomainname.com: 'SERVFAIL' error on DNS 'SPF' lookup of 'mail.theirmailserversdomainname.com'; from=<theiruser@theirdomain.com> to=<myuser@mydomain.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<mail.THEIRMAILSERVERSDOMAINNAME.COM>
Maybe they haven't updated their SPF record after the ISP change?
Anyway, is there a way to whitelist their domain(s) in Postfix so my users can receive mail from them?
UPDATE: after checking a few online dns query sites, I have determined that there is NO SPF record for either of their domain names. This doesn't sound right...
If anyone wants a crack at this, their email server's name is mail.cbsinsne.com and their email address domain is fainsgroup.com.