PDA

View Full Version : MySQL is not running!!


iceberg
25th August 2005, 17:10
hi all, during installation i got this error


ERROR: MySQL is not running! Please start your MySQL database and run the ISPConfig setup again.


i am running MySQL server...


# service mysqld status
mysqld (pid 31869) is running...


and here...


# mysqladmin ping
mysqld is alive


So, any suggestions??
Thanks for reading

falko
25th August 2005, 18:06
Do you see MySQL when you run netstat -tap? MySQL has to run over TCP, not on local Unix sockets. To change that, edit /etc/my.cnf, comment out skip-networking and restart MySQL.

iceberg
25th August 2005, 18:16
i can't skip-networking in /etc/my.cnf. here is /etc/my.cnf


more /etc/my.cnf

[mysqld]
datadir=/var/lib/mysql
socket=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

# Default to using old password format for compatibility with old and
# shorter password hash.
# Reference: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/Password_hashing.html
old_passwords=1

[mysql.server]
user=mysql
basedir=/var/lib

[mysqld_safe]
err-log=/var/log/mysqld/mysqld.log
pid-file=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid

falko
25th August 2005, 18:27
Can you post the output of netstat -tap here?

i can't skip-networking in /etc/my.cnf. here is /etc/my.cnf
Depending on your distribution there might be further configuration files under /etc/sysconfig or /etc/default.

iceberg
25th August 2005, 18:36
Thanks, i figured it out

Avatar
22nd November 2005, 15:07
Since I upgraded ISPConfig from 2.1.0 to 2.1.1 today, I get an error by eMail that mysql is not running, every half an hour. But mysql IS running:

# netstat -tap
tcp 0 0 server.domain:mysql *:* LISTEN 2446/mysqld


I also don't have an "skip-networking" option in my my.cnf, but the new way of binding to localhost isn't active, too:

# Instead of skip-networking the default is now to listen only on
# localhost which is more compatible and is not less secure.
bind-address = 123.456.789.10


The my.cnf seems to be touched during the installation, but I cannot see any changes. I already rebootet the server. No results, I still get the mail.

It's a debian 3.1 distribution.

What can I do? :(
--
Best regards...
Ace

falko
22nd November 2005, 15:32
# Instead of skip-networking the default is now to listen only on
# localhost which is more compatible and is not less secure.
bind-address = 123.456.789.10

MySQL is bound to listen only on 123.456.789.10 whereas ISPConfig tries to connect to MySQL on 127.0.0.1 to see if it's still running. Either change the IP address to 127.0.0.1 in /etc/mysql/my.cnf, or comment out the bind-address line. In both cases, restart MySQL afterwards.


The my.cnf seems to be touched during the installation, but I cannot see any changes. I already rebootet the server. No results, I still get the mail.

No, ISPConfig doesn't touch /etc/mysql/my.cnf. You can have a look at the ISPConfig sources.

Avatar
22nd November 2005, 16:02
Hi!

MySQL is bound to listen only on 123.456.789.10 whereas ISPConfig tries to connect to MySQL on 127.0.0.1 to see if it's still running. Either change the IP address to 127.0.0.1 in /etc/mysql/my.cnf, or comment out the bind-address line. In both cases, restart MySQL afterwards.


Thanx! Worked. :)


No, ISPConfig doesn't touch /etc/mysql/my.cnf. You can have a look at the ISPConfig sources.

I believe you. ;) But maybe then he just didn't complain before. :D
--
Best regards...
Ace

bassplayer
2nd January 2008, 04:00
I use fresh install Redhat 9.0
during install it says MySQL not running,
my> netstat -tap
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 2997/

my /etc/mycnf
[mysqld]
datadir=/var/lib/mysql
socket=/var/lib/mysql/mysql.sock

[mysql.server]
user=mysql
basedir=/var/lib

[safe_mysqld]
err-log=/var/log/mysqld.log
pid-file=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid

BTW, i dont see php-mysql on my instalation, i cannot find in redhat9 disc,
is it the problem.
thanks in advance.

falko
2nd January 2008, 22:31
Is there a special reason why you're using such an old distribution? I suggest you try Fedora 8 or CentOS 5.1 instead.

bassplayer
3rd January 2008, 01:56
Hi Falko,
I use Old Computer, PIII 500Mhz, 192Mhz Memory, 20GB Hdd
thats the reason I use RedHat9, I'm Thinking to use CentOS 4.2
But I'm Affraid the Computer didnot met the requirement,
Please advice,
Thanks for the quick reply.
Regards,

falko
3rd January 2008, 15:10
If you want to use it as a server, I suggest that you try Debian Etch. IT should work well on your hardware. :)