PDA

View Full Version : LinkSys setup for Ubuntu 9.0.4 ?


Al1937
16th July 2009, 06:05
Is my setup correct?
If not please correct me.

192.168.1.100 is the IP Address of the computer I am trying to set up as a server Ubuntu 9.0.4

Linksys router settings;
------------------------------
SETUP

Host Name: Opendns (Required by some ISPs)

Domain Name: opendns.com (Required by some ISPs)

Firmware Version:
Version 1.2 Release 03

LAN IP Address:
(MAC Address: 00-0f-66-88-ee-34)
192.168.1.1 (Device IP Address)
255.255.255.0 (Subnet Mask)

DNS:
Obtain DNS automatically
*Use these DNS
DNS 1: 208.67.222.222 (required)
DNS 2: 208.67.220.220 (optional)
DNS 3: . . . (optional)


WAN connection Type:
(MAC Address: 00-0f-66-88-ee-35)
Obtain an IP automatically Select the connection type used by your ISP.

-----------------------------------
STATUS

Host Name:
Opendns
Firmware Version: Version 1.2 Release 03

Login: DHCP

LAN:
(MAC Address: 00-0f-66-88-ee-34)
IP Address: 192.168.1.1
Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
DHCP server: Enable

WAN:
(MAC Address: 00-0f-66-88-ee-35)
IP Address: 76.29.159.140
Subnet Mask: 255.255.252.0
Default Gateway: 76.29.156.1
DNS: 208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
0.0.0.0
--------------------------------

DHCP

DHCP Server:
*Enable Disable

Starting IP Address:
192.168.1.100

Number of
DHCP Users: 50

-----------------------------------

FORWARDING

Preset Applications:
......Ext.Port Protocol Protocol Int.Port IP Address....Enable
....................TCP........UDP
FTP......21......*........................21.....1 92.168.1.100....*
Telnet..23......*........................23.....19 2.168.1.100....*
SMTP....25......*.......................25......19 2.168.1.100....*
DNS.....53.....................*.........53......1 92.168.1.100....*
TFTP.....69.....................*.........69.....1 92.168.1.100....*
Finger...79......*........................79...... 192.168.1.100...*
HTTP.....80......*........................80.....1 92.168.1.100....*
POP3....110.....*.......................110.....19 2.168.1.100....*
NNTP...119......*.......................119.....19 2.168.1.100....*
SNMP...161...................*..........161....192 .168.1.100 ....*



Customized Applications:
..Ext.Port... Protocol..Protocol Int.Port IP Address..Enable
.......................TCP.......UPD
isp-tcp 8080.....*..................8080....192.168.1.100 *
isp-upd 8080..................*.....8080....192.168.1.100 *
ispg3 81...........*..................81........192.168. 1.100 *

-----------------------------------------------------------

falko
17th July 2009, 13:53
If 192.168.1.100 is the static IP of your server, your DHCP range should not include that IP. Start with 192.168.1.101 or something else.

WAN connection Type:
(MAC Address: 00-0f-66-88-ee-35)
Obtain an IP automatically Select the connection type used by your ISP. You have to ask your ISP if this is right. If your Internet connection is working, it probably is.

Al1937
18th July 2009, 17:08
I have 2 computers on my LAN.
MyGateway-- Window xp pro
akbnet-------Dual boot- (C drive Windows xp) and (G Drive Ubuntu 9.0.4)

On MyGateway I went to change name and created Full computer Name of
MyGateway ns192.168.1.101

On my akbnet computer in Windows. I went to change name and created akbnet ns192.168.1.100

I changed my DHCP range to start at 192.168.1.103
instead of 192.168.1.100.

A ipconfig /all shows that my akbnet computer's ip address
changed from 192.168.1.100 to 192.168.1.103.

However if I go to http://192.168.1.100:8080 or
http://192.168.1.100/webmail on MyGateway computer
the ISPconfig logon or the mail logon comes up OK.

What do I need to do so that my
akbnet.albertbrinson.com/webmail or akbnet.albertbrinson.com:8080 comes online?

How do I know that 192.168.1.100 is my static IP?

falko
19th July 2009, 19:50
What do I need to do so that my
akbnet.albertbrinson.com/webmail or akbnet.albertbrinson.com:8080 comes online?You must configure your router to forward the ports 80 and 8080 to the IP 192.168.1.100.

How do I know that 192.168.1.100 is my static IP?You can see it in /etc/network/interfaces. If it says static, it's a static IP, if it says DHCP, it's not static.

Al1937
21st July 2009, 01:52
After reconfiguring ny home network in Windows Xp
on both my Gateway computer and my dual boot Windows/Ubuntu computer;
the Ip address for the Gateway computer ( Computer Name is MyGateway)is 192.168.1.101
the ip address for the Windows/Ubuntu computer (Computer name is akbnet) is 192.168.1.100
The FQDN is akbnet.albertbrinson.com (I think ;-0). albertbrinson.com is a regestered domain.

The DHCP Range set in my Linksys Router starts at 192.168.1.105
as per your advice that my server ip address be not included in the DHCP range.

Using my Gateway computer with IE or foxfire I Have both Ispconfig and squirrelmail
come up online OK when using 192.168.1.100:8080 or 192.168.1.100/webmail.
But I still can not get either program to come online when using
http://akbnet.albertbrinson.com:8080
or
http://akbnet.albertbrinson.com/webmail

I do have port 80, 81 and 8080 forwarded to 192.168.1.100


I do not know what else to do!




/etc/network/interfaces

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
address 192.168.1.100
netmask 255.255.255.0
network 192.168.1.0
broadcast 192.168.1.255
gateway 192.168.1.1
---------------------------------------------

/etc/hosts

127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
192.168.1.100 akbnet.albertbrinson.com akbnet

# The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
::1 localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback
fe00::0 ip6-localnet
ff00::0 ip6-mcastprefix
ff02::1 ip6-allnodes
ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
ff02::3 ip6-allhosts
----------------------------------------------

Al1937
21st July 2009, 08:20
This is driving me NUTS!
I rebooted my akbnet computer into Windows and on my Gateway computer
checked to see if MyGateway and akbnet were still networked together. MyGateway said I had no accesss to akbnet. So
in Widows on my akbnet computer I checked to see if it recognized the MyGateway computer. IT DID!
Back to the MyGateway computer and now it recognized my akbnet computer.
I brought up my Linksys router and went to DHCP. It now says that the IP of my akbnet computer is 192.168.1.105.
Which happens to be the starting range I set up.

I went to http://192.168.1.100 on MyGateway and as expected "Not Found", previously(Last post) it responded "IT WORKS"

Back to the akbnet computer running windows.
I click "My Computer"-properties-Change Name-More and
typed in ns.192.168.1.100 for the IP address. clicked Ok and rebooted into Ubuntu.

Back to MyGateway-- entered http://192.168.1.100/webmail and http://192.168.100:8080 and they both worked OK, even though my Router has 192.168.1.105 assigned as the ip address of akbnet!

Is this setup acceptable????

My http://akbnet.albertbrinson.com:8080 0r /webmail still does not work!!

I have gone to many, many other Ubuntu forums and NOBODY has this problem.
I am not going to give up on this until I get it right.

What could I be doing wrong?

falko
22nd July 2009, 17:11
To be honest, I'm having difficulties understanding your setup...