PDA

View Full Version : Where does content go?


holljac
18th August 2005, 08:41
I set up the computer using the FC4 ultimate setup directions. All went well. I installed ISPConfig and all went smoothly. I chose advanced install so I could specifiy /var/www as the web root. I created a reseller and then logged out of admin and logged in as the reseller. I then created a client and then a site. I put the content for the site, via ftp, in /var/www/web2/web which has a link by the name of the site pointing to it. The /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file shows "DocumentRoot /var/www/web2/web". The server name is server1.example.com (192.168.0.2), the site name is scrump.hopto.org (192.168.0.100). When I fire up the browser and go to scrump.hopto.org, all I get is the "Fedora Four Test Page". Not the ISPConfig noindex page, but the FC4 one. It seems as though the following line from the httpd.conf file is not being read, "Include /etc/httpd/conf/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf". It's unclear to me whether I should have the FC4 version of httpd running or not. I've tried it with the FC4 httpd service turned off, but with ISPConfig on and I have tried it with FC4 httpd service on along with the ISPConfig. So, anyways, can someone help educate me on what I need to do to fix this? Thanks!

domino
18th August 2005, 09:11
hmm, try these 2 options:

1. Fire up Firefox and try to browse the URL
2. Fire up you windows command dos box and type this and hit enter: ipconfig /flushdns

Let us know

falko
18th August 2005, 10:44
192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.100 are both on the same system?
Does the DNS record for scrump.hopto.org point to 192.168.0.100?

holljac
18th August 2005, 23:03
192.168.0.100 is an alias address for eth0:0. The dns record is a dynamic dns through No-ip and it points to my router. The router then port forwards all port 80 requests to the DMZ host which is 192.168.0.2 on the same interface, only as eth0. I just found that if I put the ip address, 192.168.0.100, in the location bar of firefox, then I see the site. So apparently it has something to do with the DNS. Any advice on what to do next?

falko
18th August 2005, 23:15
Please have a look at this thread: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=281

holljac
19th August 2005, 00:01
Thanks for the tip!

holljac
19th August 2005, 02:31
After reading the DNS section you referenced, I removed any dns info from the site configurations. I could only connect to the sites via their ip addresses, by hostname would give me the same FC4 error page. So, removing dns configuration from ispconfig did not help. I then put the hostname/ip pairs in the /etc/hosts file. Now I can get to the sites with their respective names. The question still is, can anyone else get to them by hostname? Could someone please try these URLs and let me know?

http://scrump.hopto.org
http://toastrack.hopto.org

Thanks

domino
19th August 2005, 02:51
They can be found, neither sites load :(. Sorry i don't have an explanation for you.

holljac
19th August 2005, 02:54
By found, do you mean the generic Fedora server error page comes up?

domino
19th August 2005, 02:58
It doesn't load at all. But you see the staus on the left lower bottom of the browser stating that "The site was found".

holljac
19th August 2005, 03:00
Hmmm??? Can you ping my ip, 69.146.18.184? Thanks!

domino
19th August 2005, 03:04
Pinging 69.146.18.184 with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 69.146.18.184: bytes=32 time=261ms TTL=47
Reply from 69.146.18.184: bytes=32 time=262ms TTL=47
Reply from 69.146.18.184: bytes=32 time=262ms TTL=47
Reply from 69.146.18.184: bytes=32 time=266ms TTL=47

Ping statistics for 69.146.18.184:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 261ms, Maximum = 266ms, Average = 262ms

I also tried: http://69.146.18.184, but doesnt load. Browser status says, "Web site found. Waiting for reply..."

holljac
19th August 2005, 03:11
Could you try http://scrump.hopto.org now? Thanks for the help man!

domino
19th August 2005, 03:18
No worky :(. No problem guy. I know how it is when you have no one outside the network to test :D. My friends sort of gets annoyed at me when I ask them to test this and that link :D. Just keep trying. I'm sure you'll get there :cool:

holljac
19th August 2005, 04:19
How about now?

http://scrump.hopto.org
http://toastrack.hopto.org

domino
19th August 2005, 04:39
Lets take this on MSN. :)

falko
19th August 2005, 10:13
How about now?

http://scrump.hopto.org
http://toastrack.hopto.org

I guess you're behind a router in a local network. Have you enabled port forwarding on your router, so when the router gets a request on port 80 for example, it passes it on to port 80 of your ISPConfig box? :D

holljac
20th August 2005, 00:24
I am behind a router on my network. Port 80 is set to port forward to the server. ISPConfig's portscanner and the portscanner at http://www.canyouseeme.org/ , both say port 80 is open. I set up this server as per the howto at http://howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4 . In the beginning I was using the virtual interface, eth0:0 (192.168.0.100), as the address for the site. When I had it set this way, I had port 80 forwarded to 192.168.0.100. I couldn't seem to get things to work using that, so I set the ip address of the website to the same ip as the server, 192.168.0.2 and then changed the router port forward to forward port 80 to 192.168.0.2. Of course doing network restarts in between these changes, ISPConfig restarts and restarting the X server and logging back in. This does not seem to work either. If you have any more suggestions, I am willing to try them.