PDA

View Full Version : server name vs. host name


mcardo
16th October 2008, 21:21
Under ISPConfig management > server > settings What is the difference between server name and host name and how does changing either one affect my server? I didn't want to dig into a DNS book to find out, if the answer is complicated, let me know, then I'll dig into the DNS book at Barn3s and Nobl3

This question arises because by default ISPConfig uses your server name as your host name (e.g. server1), and the default MX record becomes "server1.domain.com" but I created an A record "mail" and changed the MX record to mail.domain.com. Am I ignoring something here?

Thank You!

till
17th October 2008, 09:58
Under ISPConfig management > server > settings What is the difference between server name and host name and how does changing either one affect my server? I didn't want to dig into a DNS book to find out, if the answer is complicated, let me know, then I'll dig into the DNS book at Barn3s and Nobl3

Example:

Hostname: server1
Domain: yourdomain.com

_X_
17th October 2008, 17:13
what are the problems if this is set like:

Hostname: www
Domain: domain.info

till
17th October 2008, 17:20
There are no problems. Why should there be any problems?

_X_
17th October 2008, 17:25
just asking :)

happz
18th October 2008, 04:19
Till, i think he is asking if when we create the perfect server and give the server the name example: server1.domainname.com should we also when installing ispconfig and the question comes during installation about the host name and domain name should we use the same as the names we gave the server?...i think that is what he is asking... :D

tmdg
18th October 2008, 16:47
Under ISPConfig management > server > settings What is the
This question arises because by default ISPConfig uses your server name as your host name (e.g. server1), and the default MX record becomes "server1.domain.com" but I created an A record "mail" and changed the MX record to mail.domain.com. Am I ignoring something here?

Thank You!

I've always found you need to be a bit careful how you configure MX records. May be Postfix of configuration built by ISPConfig don't suffer the problem but I did experience it several times with sendmail.

If your real FQDN is say server1.example.com and is is the mail host for the domains
somedomain.tdl and anotherdomain.tld then the MX records need to look like this.

MX 10 server1.example.com.


if you were to have say
MX 10 mail.somedomain.tld.


You may get the problem of :-
(mail for mail.somedomain.tld loops back to myself)


Regards,
Tom.

mcardo
19th October 2008, 21:41
I've always found you need to be a bit careful how you configure MX records. May be Postfix of configuration built by ISPConfig don't suffer the problem but I did experience it several times with sendmail.

If your real FQDN is say server1.example.com and is is the mail host for the domains
somedomain.tdl and anotherdomain.tld then the MX records need to look like this.

MX 10 server1.example.com.


if you were to have say
MX 10 mail.somedomain.tld.


You may get the problem of :-
(mail for mail.somedomain.tld loops back to myself)


Regards,
Tom.

Even having an "A record" "mail" to ip "server ip"?

e.g

host: mail
to ip:192.168.2.2