View Full Version : ISPConfig e-mail problems
mr_bo
29th September 2008, 00:48
Hi,
Can someone please help.
I have a new install of ispc on Ubuntu and all works well except for receiving mail. I have configured outlook express and read up loads on here and the net but still scratching my head.
I can send/receive ok in oe with no errors and send mail ok but cannot receive mail.
Thanks in advance.
till
29th September 2008, 11:33
Which errors appear in the mail log when you send a email to your account?
mr_bo
29th September 2008, 21:30
I'm looking at /var/log/mail.log and this is what I see after I hit send/receive in oe:
time=0
Sep 29 19:27:42 server pop3d: Connection, ip=[::ffff:192.168.0.1]
Sep 29 19:27:42 server pop3d: LOGIN, user=web1_admin, ip=[::ffff:192.168.0.1], port=[4126]
Sep 29 19:27:42 server pop3d: LOGOUT, user=web1_admin, ip=[::ffff:192.168.0.1], port=[4126], top=0, retr=0, rcvd=12, sent=39, time=0
and this is from when I tried to send a mail to my work address:
Sep 29 09:47:21 server postfix/smtp[14904]: BA416E2382: host mail-xxx.xxxxx.com[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] refused to talk to me: 554 mail-xxx.xxxx.com
Sep 29 09:47:21 server postfix/smtp[14904]: BA416E2382: host mail-xxx.xxxx.com[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] refused to talk to me: 554 mail-xxx.xxxx.com
Sep 29 09:47:21 server postfix/smtp[14904]: BA416E2382: to=<xxx@xxx.co.uk>, relay=mail-xxx.xxxx.com[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]:25, delay=2.1, delays=0.1/0.04/2/0, dsn=4.0.0, status=deferred (host mail-xxx.xxxx.com[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] refused to talk to me: 554 mail-xxx.xxxx.com)
(had to edit ip's and server)
till
30th September 2008, 11:38
Do you run your server on a dsl or kable line with a dynamic IP address?
mr_bo
30th September 2008, 12:31
Yes, it is currently on dsl with dynamic ip, for the next six weeks. Then I will be changing service provider to a static ip dsl service.
falko
30th September 2008, 18:04
Ok, then you're most likely blacklisted. You can check that on http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx
mr_bo
30th September 2008, 18:25
Ta for that, will check it out when i get home.
If so, can I be removed?
Here is the results:
Blacklist Name Status Reason TTL Response Time (ms)
CASA-CBL+ Listed LISTED Mail from xx.xxx.xx.xxx refused, see Detail
Return codes were: 127.0.8.6 9595 641
CASA-CDL Listed LISTED Mail from xx.xxx.xx.xxx refused, see Detail
Return codes were: 127.0.8.4 9595 641
Spamhaus-ZEN Listed LISTED Detail
Return codes were: 127.0.0.10 595 3797
<snip>
CSMA Listed TIMEOUT Return codes were: ERROR, Reponse code=2 0 0
HILLI Listed TIMEOUT Return codes were: ERROR, Reponse code=2 0 0
INFORMATIONWAVE Listed TIMEOUT 0 0
NJABLDYNA Listed TIMEOUT 0 0
SOLID Listed TIMEOUT Return codes were: ERROR, Reponse code=2 0 0
SPEWS1 Listed TIMEOUT 0 0
TQMCUBE Listed TIMEOUT 0 0
Grey
1st October 2008, 13:40
Most likely the receiving SMTP server runs some sort of RBL checks and perhaps another on known dialup lines. If so, even unlisting your ip wouldn't change much, as your IP can be traced down to be a dialup one and will sometimes be blocked.
I don't think you will be able to "unlist" the ip as you'll get another one after a reconnect with your ISP and the play starts again.
falko
1st October 2008, 14:15
You can relay through another mail server: http://www.howtoforge.com/postfix_relaying_through_another_mailserver
mr_bo
1st October 2008, 22:07
Thanks for all your help.
I already pay a company to host my sites for me and I wanted to get away and host myself, but my current isp is obviously the problem, so I have shifted everything back to the hosting company for now as in 2 weeks I will obtain my mac code and move to a better isp with a static ip service that does not block port 25 and then shift everything back to my linux box here. :)
mr_bo
31st October 2008, 21:30
Hello again, I'm back..
I have now switched to an isp with static ip and all is ok on that side.
But now I can send mails ok using outlook express, but get
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.
A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:
xxxx@xxxxxxx.co.uk
No Such User Here
when I send a mail to the account on isp config.
Thanks for any help in advance.
falko
1st November 2008, 17:49
Is xxxx@xxxxxxx.co.uk listed in /etc/postfix/virtusertable?
mr_bo
1st November 2008, 18:05
Is xxxx@xxxxxxx.co.uk listed in /etc/postfix/virtusertable?
Yes it is in there.
falko
2nd November 2008, 15:47
Is it exaclty xxxx@xxxxxxx.co.uk, or maybe something slightly different like xxxx@www.xxxxxxx.co.uk?
mr_bo
2nd November 2008, 17:26
Is it exaclty xxxx@xxxxxxx.co.uk, or maybe something slightly different like xxxx@www.xxxxxxx.co.uk?
It is exact, and to be sure I also added it manually.
If I send a mail from a web based e-mail, google, the mail delivers ok and drops into my inbox on outlook express, but if I use another mail account which is on the server I am currently renting then it gets sent back with the error.
falko
3rd November 2008, 16:21
Can you check if the MX record for xxxxxxx.co.uk is correct?
dig mx xxxxxxx.co.uk
mr_bo
3rd November 2008, 20:11
Can you check if the MX record for xxxxxxx.co.uk is correct?
dig mx xxxxxxx.co.uk
; <<>> DiG 9.4.2 <<>> mx xxxxxx.co.uk
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 51229
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;xxxxxx.co.uk. IN MX
;; ANSWER SECTION:
xxxxxx.co.uk. 1800 IN MX 10 mail.xxxxxx.co.uk.
;; Query time: 250 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.1.254#53(192.168.1.254)
;; WHEN: Mon Nov 3 18:07:25 2008
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 58
I have an A record for mail.xxxxxx.co.uk and all mails seem to be getting through except from the server I rent.
I will be giving up that server when I get this sorted and moving everything to my ispc server.
I think it is safe to do so tonight and take a gamble as I think the ispc server is ok.
mr_bo
13th November 2008, 20:34
Hi, the ispc server has been up and running for a little over a week with no mail problems.
Thanks for your help, I have learnt alot from here. :)
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.