PDA

View Full Version : Have I Been Hacked? :-o


PierreQuebec
5th April 2008, 09:19
Now I'm wondering if I have been hacked or something!!! :-S

I tried again setting up my MX records to my current IP address, and then I sent myself an e-mail from my Hotmail account. It bounced back with the following message:

This is the mail system at host c9mailgw40.amadis.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The mail system

<pierre@pierrepaquette.net>: host fwd.nsm.ctmail.com[69.64.145.228] said: 550
5.7.1 Invalid recipient: 'pierre@pierrepaquette.net' (in reply to RCPT TO
command)

Now http://www.amadis.com returns nothing (hangs) and http://www.ctmail.com shows an "Under Construction" page, so I can't get much info about those.

Have I been somehow hacked? Their IP address (69.64.145.228) is nothing like mine (currently 69.159.185.137) or the one returned by:
[QUOTE]
$ dig mx pierrepaquette.net

; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> mx pierrepaquette.net
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 23232
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;pierrepaquette.net. IN MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
pierrepaquette.net. 3600 IN MX 10 mail.pierrepaquette.net.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
mail.pierrepaquette.net. 3600 IN A 69.159.185.137[QUOTE]

Help me please!

(I will double post this because I need an answer to this issue FAST!)

topdog
5th April 2008, 14:26
your mx is pointing else where.

PierreQuebec
6th April 2008, 22:43
I've changed the MX records now and everything should work, but it's not working still, Postfix won't get the messages for the domains it's watching.

As I posted in another thread, it all started after my Internet connexion was down for a few hours. Could it be that my ISP decided to block the ports used by Postfix? How could I check that out?

chipsafts
7th April 2008, 00:51
no response from 65.94.90.173
and traceroute dies at
64.230.186.149 bx1-chicagodt_pos1-1.net.bell.ca

PierreQuebec
7th April 2008, 01:17
Thanks. What port were you scanning? I'll try and figure out what is happenning...

chipsafts
7th April 2008, 01:28
I tried sending an email to the account you mentioned and got the 'no response'. I don't know what traceroute uses, I presume the same as ping.

PierreQuebec
7th April 2008, 01:53
Odd. Everything used to work just fine. Maybe I should try deinstalling and reinstalling Postfix?!

I'm puzzled!

chipsafts
7th April 2008, 03:07
if you can send internally on that pc, then check your firewall.
I can't answer your Postfix questions as I'm a sendmail 'er.

PierreQuebec
7th April 2008, 04:01
Well I meant that it was working fine before I had problems with my Internet connexion.

Is it possible to configure Sendmail to handle multiple domains? I chose Postfix because I ran across a "howto" but if I have other choices, I'll consider them...

falko
7th April 2008, 19:35
Is it possible to configure Sendmail to handle multiple domains?
Yes, but I find Sendmail hard to configure. I'd stay with Postfix.
What's the output of iptables -L? Is port 25 open in your router's firewall?

badgerbox76
8th April 2008, 00:58
I know I was recently hacked. I installed sendmail without configuring it immediately. Someone from Chain had gotten in created a user account and started sending out paypal spam from my mail server. They used three poxry servers two in hong kong and one in new york. So I just decided to play it safe and wipe the system and start over. SendMail seems to be very vulnerable.

topdog
8th April 2008, 10:24
I think you are blaming the wrong horse, first of all unconfigured sendmail does not listen to the network so how could someone use a vulnerability in a service they can not get access to, to take over your system.

You should be looking else where