PDA

View Full Version : Which one to install ?


kadi
12th February 2008, 22:11
hello
I just need an advice on which control panel to install on my
new server, i did install ISPConfig on my first one and one thing
i didn't like that the installation changed alot of the original
files and that made me lost, i am not expert in linux that is
why it made me lost, also i have hard time with proftp on ispconfig
it keeps saying in the status proftp is down for no reason
then i heard that vhcs2 doesn't do that.
I need some advice here, it will be appreciated.
Thanks very much :)

madmucho
12th February 2008, 23:28
Please which distribution you use?
Do you follow any howto in this server?

kadi
13th February 2008, 00:19
hello madmucho
Yes i did follow how to on this server and the version was 2.7.1 now
i just download the new 2.2.21.
Thanks again:)

madmucho
13th February 2008, 00:58
Well and your linux distro? Mandriva or ubuntu or debian or...? ?

kadi
13th February 2008, 06:29
hello again madmucho
my linux distro on the old server was debian etcch 4, and i am using it
on the new one also.
I like the ISPConfig it is very nice gui too, just little tricky in some places
and i can tell you, when i have it installed i never figured out where is the
FileManager, i coudn't find it so i checked the documentaion it doesn't explain details very much , i don't mean to insult the program but hopefully the new release will be alot easier to deal with.
Thanks again for your help.:)

till
13th February 2008, 11:28
where is the FileManager

It is called WebFTP, you find it in the upper main menu ;) It is there since the first version of ISPConfig.

kadi
13th February 2008, 18:43
hello till
Thanks for the help, also i like to have and idea about setting the websites
directory, can i put them in /var/www/site because the ispconfig put them
i think somewhere else, and what was confusing me that each time i create
a site it will make folder : /web1/web/web/site/web i don't understand, so
how can i just put the sites under /var/www/site folder?
Thanks again for your help. :)

till
13th February 2008, 18:49
ISPConfig creates the sites under /var/www/site/web, or at least a symlink with this name taht you can use to access the site on the shell. This can not be changed and we will most likely do not implement this to be changable in ISPConfig 2 as the complete software depends on this site layout.

kadi
13th February 2008, 19:52
hello Till again and sorry to bother you.
Thanks for the information
so i should put my site files under /var/www/mysite/web
another thing, which ip address should i use, there is so many places
on ispconfig asking for ip address, i have router private address 192.168.x.x
and public address 97.x.x.x ?
I will install the 2.2.21. so that is why i am asking those questions.
and how to install 2.2.21 fresh not upgrade.
Thanks very much for your help again

falko
14th February 2008, 18:42
on ispconfig asking for ip address, i have router private address 192.168.x.x
and public address 97.x.x.x ?
For the web sites you must use the IP address that you see in the output of ifconfigFor the DNS records you must use the public IP address.


and how to install 2.2.21 fresh not upgrade.
Thanks very much for your help again
The installation is always the same, no matter if it's a fresh install or an upgrade.

kadi
15th February 2008, 01:58
hello again
thanks very much for being a great help.
my last questions i thought to put it here
instead of posting a new one.
when i add a new site or even a new database
ispconfig always create it under Web1 like :
mysite.com it will be Web1/mysite.com
also db Web_udb1 ?
can i change the setting for that or rename
Web1 to the name of the site ?
isp doesn't give me a choice.
question #2 : when i tried to make
a backup FTP on G4L i select /dev/hda
and the backup was the whole size of
the drive 37GB ? the data is only 4.gb
should i choose /dev/hda1 ? my new
hda is 76GB ! so how to backup data
only not the whole drive on G4L ?
Thanks again and again.:)

falko
15th February 2008, 19:30
can i change the setting for that or rename
Web1 to the name of the site ?You don't need to change that because ISPConfig also creates a symlink with the name of your web site that points to web1.
Example: your web site is named www.example.com and is stored in /var/www/web1
Then there should as well be a symlink /var/www/www.example.com that points to /var/www/web1.


question #2 : when i tried to make
a backup FTP on G4L i select /dev/hda
and the backup was the whole size of
the drive 37GB ? the data is only 4.gb
should i choose /dev/hda1 ? my new
hda is 76GB ! so how to backup data
only not the whole drive on G4L ?
Thanks again and again.:)Did you select a compression mechanism in Ghost4Linux?

kadi
16th February 2008, 04:40
hello mr/Falko again
this will be my last question for now.
so that means if i go //var/www to check one
of the sites and what files in it how do i know
if it is web1 or web 5 ? just keep checking one
by one ?
Thanks alot again:)

till
16th February 2008, 10:08
You dont have to know the ID's of the webs, there is a symlink with the name of the domain pointing to the correct directory as falko described above.

kadi
17th February 2008, 05:08
hello
thanks to both of you for your great help,
i installed ispconfig 2.2.21 and everything
went smooth, now i am facing somthing
else, when i go to the address fo ispconfig
https://www.mysite.com:81
the browser Iceweasel gives me an error
Security error : (Domain name Mismatch)
that my certificate is not registered on
this site (kandkmarket) but for (kmarket)
that is the name i put into the certificate
info, so how can i change that to the
real site name , or cahnge the name
on ssl 3 or what should i do?
it will let me in if i said OK, but it keeps
coming each time i go to ispconfig.
hope i am not desturbing both of you with
alot of questions.
Thanks alot again:)

falko
17th February 2008, 19:57
You can recreate the certificate as follows: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=121

kadi
18th February 2008, 03:19
hello
Thanks alot for your great help and with
your instructions for the ssl i corrected
the problem, now i am facing small
one:
ispconfig does not come on when
i write : http://www.mysite.com:81
or even https://www.mysite.com:81
I did like you told another post open
the file config.inc.php and took the
(S) make it (http) only but this did not
make any differance , the only way it
it works if i write https://192.168.x.x
it doesn't work with the address.
do i need to Reinstall it again ?
i don't know how to correct this
problems, i hope i am not disturbing
you too much.
and real thanks for your help again :)

falko
18th February 2008, 15:38
Does www.mysite.com point to your router's public IP address, and does your router forward port 81 to the ISPConfig system?