PDA

View Full Version : Installation Problem


_InFeCtOr
5th August 2005, 00:19
I am installing ISPConfig on a fedora 4 server for a client. However, I have ran into a problem that I see no sensible solution for. The client will be hosting site site from said server, using ISPConfig. However, the installation wants to know the hostname that it will be running on. This host obviously doesn't exist because the client will also be hosting his own DNS. He needs ISPConfig setup to be able to configure this, but the setup process fails because the specified host doesn't exist. Can someone please tell me the solution to this, as I don't see it
:confused:

falko
5th August 2005, 00:26
I am installing ISPConfig on a fedora 4 server for a client. However, I have ran into a problem that I see no sensible solution for. The client will be hosting site site from said server, using ISPConfig. However, the installation wants to know the hostname that it will be running on. This host obviously doesn't exist because the client will also be hosting his own DNS. He needs ISPConfig setup to be able to configure this, but the setup process fails because the specified host doesn't exist. Can someone please tell me the solution to this, as I don't see it
:confused:

You could enter the hostname in /etc/hosts so that the lookup during installation doesn't fail.

_InFeCtOr
5th August 2005, 00:36
You know, that never even crossed my mind. I'll have to add that to my big book of tricks.
Thanks.

Sinist@r.Ice
7th August 2005, 17:54
I got the same problem as this i've added my host to the /etc/hosts file but still no joy...anyone got any ideas?

falko
7th August 2005, 18:10
I got the same problem as this i've added my host to the /etc/hosts file but still no joy...anyone got any ideas?

You can leave the hostname empty during installation and enter the IP address as domain.

Sinist@r.Ice
8th August 2005, 15:34
ah ty :) didn't think of trying that lol...