PDA

View Full Version : Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup


nandhu
1st August 2005, 12:01
http://www.falkotimme.com/howtos/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4/index.php

Hi Falko,

I went through your article on Perfect Setup of FC4. Thanks a lot for such a nice article. Me personally need to know few more steps of how about going with few more tools which would help me to add Virtual email domains and then email accounts for those virtual domains. Also is there any web based tools that I could use to add/edit/delete the domains, virtual domains and email accounts. Like vpopmail and vqadmin for qmail.

Also more importantly are there any tools that I could get to install with the above article mentioned setup to have access to emails to the email accounts created using the above mentioned domains and virtual domains. Something like Squirrel Mail or Horde or should there be anything else available.

Could you please kindly add instructions on how to add a web based tool like vqadmin/vpopmail and web based email access using squirrel/horde or anything else?

Basically I'm trying to setup a Mailserver on my ADSL connection at home. And I've 3 domains registered, so i want to be able to use all the 3 domains from this single email server.

Also I hope your instructions in the article will help me to install the mail server on my AMD x86_64 bit Athlon system.

Many thanks for your kind help.

Nanda.

till
1st August 2005, 12:35
http://www.falkotimme.com/howtos/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4/index.php

Hi Falko,

I went through your article on Perfect Setup of FC4. Thanks a lot for such a nice article. Me personally need to know few more steps of how about going with few more tools which would help me to add Virtual email domains and then email accounts for those virtual domains. Also is there any web based tools that I could use to add/edit/delete the domains, virtual domains and email accounts. Like vpopmail and vqadmin for qmail.

Also more importantly are there any tools that I could get to install with the above article mentioned setup to have access to emails to the email accounts created using the above mentioned domains and virtual domains. Something like Squirrel Mail or Horde or should there be anything else available.

Could you please kindly add instructions on how to add a web based tool like vqadmin/vpopmail and web based email access using squirrel/horde or anything else?

Basically I'm trying to setup a Mailserver on my ADSL connection at home. And I've 3 domains registered, so i want to be able to use all the 3 domains from this single email server.

Also I hope your instructions in the article will help me to install the mail server on my AMD x86_64 bit Athlon system.

Many thanks for your kind help.

Nanda.


Hi Nanda,

have you tried ISPConfig? It provides Website, Domain and email management with a web based interface.

Till

nandhu
1st August 2005, 18:00
Hi Nanda,

have you tried ISPConfig? It provides Website, Domain and email management with a web based interface.

Till

Thanks Till. This evening I'm going to follow this article fully and will also install ISPConfig.

Could you please put down some lines here for installing ISPConfig. I don't think Falko's article explains that bit in detail?

Also I just took a look at a demo of ISPConfig, yes it is a very good one. But
there is no web email access for the users. Say if I create a virtual email domain like xyz.com on my mail server mail.myserver.com. Then how can a user with email id: user@xyz.com can login by web like yahoo email or hotmail and check his emails. So I need an web based email tool like that. I know squirrel mail and horde do that for qmail through courier-imap, but i could not get to install qmail using qmailtoaster or qmailrocks. Everytime I try to install following the instructions given at qmailrocks, I get errors while compiling courier-auth section.

After hours and hours of search and googling, I could not get anywhere, so I'm going to follow Falko's article this evening. But then I do not know how to link SqMail or Horde with the installation of Falko's, so I was wondering if there is any other webmail that I could use straight forward with this article's setup or I'm also happy if install of SqMail and Horde will be working straightway with this setup.

In anycase I'll give my try and will update this area.

Any help is much appreciated.

Many thanks for your reply earlier.

Nanda.

falko
1st August 2005, 18:29
Could you please put down some lines here for installing ISPConfig. I don't think Falko's article explains that bit in detail?

Please look here: http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm

nandhu
1st August 2005, 18:32
Please look here: http://www.ispconfig.org/manual_installation.htm

Thanks a lot Falko.

Much appreciated. I'll do this today.

- Nanda.

nandhu
5th August 2005, 11:41
Hi,

When I ran the command
apt-get cyrus-sasl-gssapi

I got back a message saying cannot find cyrus-sasl-gssapi

Is there anyother rpm source needs to be added to sources.list?

Please let me know.

Thanks.

Nanda.

falko
5th August 2005, 12:06
Hi,

When I ran the command
apt-get cyrus-sasl-gssapi

I got back a message saying cannot find cyrus-sasl-gssapi

Is there anyother rpm source needs to be added to sources.list?

Please let me know.

Thanks.

Nanda.

No, you need these 3 lines in /etc/apt/sources.list:
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386 core updates freshrpms
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/4/i386 tupdates
rpm http://ayo.freshrpms.net fedora/linux/1/i386 core updates freshrpms
Run
apt-get update
after you've changed /etc/apt/sources.list.

But you don't need cyrus-sasl-gssapi for doing plain and login authentication with Postfix so you can leave it out.

nandhu
5th August 2005, 13:58
Thanks Falko.

I' think I did apt-get update, but probably I did it without updating the sources.list as you expected.

I'll redo this bit today and will update this area.

Thanks.

- Nanda.

nandhu
6th August 2005, 01:07
Thanks Falko.
apt-get worked like a charm.

Cheers

- Nanda.

Jester
12th November 2005, 18:54
hey im new to linux but i wanna setup a web server on 1 of my old computers
ive been following the "The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4" guide and i finished installing but wen i type /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 i get permission denied. and the next step it says create this file /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0 how do you create the file?

i know its prolly the noobiest questions ever but id really like to learn this and set up a web server.

till
12th November 2005, 19:28
I guess you are using a GUI editor from Gnome or KDE? Please use an shell editor like vi or joe to edit the configuration files. With GUI editors you might get permisiion denied errors even when run as root.

To create an empty file, you can use the command:

touch /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0

or use an editor of your choice if you want put some text in the file.

falko
12th November 2005, 20:23
Have a look here to learn how to edit files on the command line: http://www.howtoforge.com/faq/11_15_en.html

betablue
7th January 2006, 19:57
Yet, any "perfect" setup guide defeats its purpose if the instructions are incomplete.

Assumption, that the user knows the any commands is wrong.
It creates confusion and unnecesary questions, that could be avoided by providing accurate step-by-step instructions (including commands issued during the process)

When I followed this gudide I was under impression, that there was a missing page after initial reboot (Page 2)

There was no mention about Login as root (local or remote) and from theoretical assumtion how the file looks it says: "Now we want to create the virtual interface eth0:0"... " (No mention how to do it)

The guide would be great if these "holes" were filled with proper content.

BTW: sending people off to read instructions somewhere else on the internet defeats the purpose of publishing such guide at all.

till
7th January 2006, 20:11
Yet, any "perfect" setup guide defeats its purpose if the instructions are incomplete.

Assumption, that the user knows the any commands is wrong.
It creates confusion and unnecesary questions, that could be avoided by providing accurate step-by-step instructions (including commands issued during the process)

When I followed this gudide I was under impression, that there was a missing page after initial reboot (Page 2)

There was no mention about Login as root (local or remote) and from theoretical assumtion how the file looks it says: "Now we want to create the virtual interface eth0:0"... " (No mention how to do it)

The guide would be great if these "holes" were filled with proper content.

BTW: sending people off to read instructions somewhere else on the internet defeats the purpose of publishing such guide at all.


1) The howtos where complete and many users have used them successfully. They provide step by step instructions to setup a server, not to learn linux in general. Providing instructions on how to edit a file where not in the scope of a howto for server setups.
2) The link that Falko posted is not anywhere in the Internet, its in the FAQ from Howtoforge.

falko
7th January 2006, 21:11
Yet, any "perfect" setup guide defeats its purpose if the instructions are incomplete.

Assumption, that the user knows the any commands is wrong.
It creates confusion and unnecesary questions, that could be avoided by providing accurate step-by-step instructions (including commands issued during the process)

When I followed this gudide I was under impression, that there was a missing page after initial reboot (Page 2)

There was no mention about Login as root (local or remote) and from theoretical assumtion how the file looks it says: "Now we want to create the virtual interface eth0:0"... " (No mention how to do it)

The guide would be great if these "holes" were filled with proper content.

BTW: sending people off to read instructions somewhere else on the internet defeats the purpose of publishing such guide at all.

This is a "copy & paste" tutorial which means if you copy and paste the commands and don't make any typos it will work out of the box. It did for me many times; if it doesn't work for you, then I'm sure you did something wrong.

However, the instructions are complete. If you tell me exactly where you're having problems then I might be able to help you.

betablue
8th January 2006, 08:30
I was referring to the Jesters' post saying:
hey im new to linux but i wanna setup a web server on 1 of my old computers
ive been following the "The Perfect Setup - Fedora Core 4" guide and i finished installing but wen i type /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 i get permission denied. and the next step it says create this file /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0 how do you create the file?

That is exactly the point I am referring to as a weekness of this guide. (I don't mean to criticize it, but make a sugestion to make it better and easier to understand for people new to linux, who wand to migrate from "redmond".

as the guide says:
Finally, the installation is complete, and you can remove your CD/DVD from the computer and reboot it:

So, you reboot the computer and then you see a login promt on the black screen. Now what? (guide doesn't say)

I guess Login as a root using password previously chosen is the only option.
OK.
- You said it's a copy and paste guide. Great! How do I copy and where do I copy from?
Two options:
1. If guide is printed - I can re-type, that's fine.
2. If I have another computer with guide in the web browser I can re-type again.
(Guide does not tell us to use PUTTY at this moment)
Let's say we connect with PUTTY to the servers' IP (comes up with a security warning - that may confuse the user)
Now we use root login and pass and we get the prompt

If at this moment we copy and paste the line from the guide:
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0
the system will respond with the error: "permission denied" as Jester stated and it is not the matter of using GUI editor from Gnome or KDE as Till have sugested in his response.

I think it should be more like:
vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0
then remember to edit IP's in the lines quoted
DEVICE=eth0:0
BOOTPROTO=static
BROADCAST=192.168.0.255
IPADDR=192.168.0.101
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
NETWORK=192.168.0.0
ONBOOT=yes
TYPE=Ethernet
before copying and pasting it to your server.
Make sure to enter the Insert mode (i) in the editor before pasting, as otherwise all characters before "i" will be lost from the pasted text.
To save the file, press :x (you must not be in Insert mode. If you are, press ESC to leave it).
Press :q to leave the file (but you must not be in Insert mode).

I didn't test this guide any further, so I'll delay my comments 'till after I'll do it.

The attitude: This wasn't written to teach you linux doesn't cut it. As you can see, neebees are trying to use those guides and get stuck in the middle.
It is only decrimental to their interrest with linux.

falko
8th January 2006, 19:50
So, you reboot the computer and then you see a login promt on the black screen. Now what? (guide doesn't say)
I guess you don't have any other option than logging in as root...

- You said it's a copy and paste guide. Great! How do I copy and where do I copy from?
Two options:
1. If guide is printed - I can re-type, that's fine.
2. If I have another computer with guide in the web browser I can re-type again.
(Guide does not tell us to use PUTTY at this moment)

At the top of http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_setup_fedora_core_4 it reads:

This is a "copy & paste" HowTo! The easiest way to follow this tutorial is to use a command line client/SSH client (like PuTTY for Windows) and simply copy and paste the commands (except where you have to provide own information like IP addresses, hostnames, passwords,...). This helps to avoid typos.

If at this moment we copy and paste the line from the guide:

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0
the system will respond with the error: "permission denied" as Jester stated and it is not the matter of using GUI editor from Gnome or KDE as Till have sugested in his response.

I think it should be more like:
vi /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0

But I didn't tell anyone to run /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0 I say

All we have to do is to create the file /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0:0

Now it's up to you how you create that file. vi is not the only possibility (and I think it wouldn't be good to mention vi to newbies - they'd have difficulties to use it). You could also create that file on your Windows workstation and copy it to your server with WinSCP, or you could use echo commands to create the file, etc.

I understand what you mean, but when I write a tutorial it's sometimes very hard for me to imagine what people can do wrong. I'm trying my best to prevent anyone from doing mistakes, but they are always inventing methods that I can't even dream of... ;)

betablue
8th January 2006, 22:40
I agree, as I was told many times
"you can't make something completly "idiot-proof", because someone will always invent a better idiot."
but at least we can try to make it more difficult for them to do so. (meaning try to cover most obvious points, where problems may occur)

I have noticed that the logical flow of the guide was broken at that point (what to do after installation ends and computer re-boots), so I thought to point it out, as there was a question posted specifically relating to that point.

I agree, you did not specifically tell anyone to run that line, but it also didin't say what else to do with it (so to people unfamiliar with linux it may imply to run it - as did it to Jester).

Now, if someone follows this thread, it sure will clear a lot of things for them, but it would be nice if that info was already in the guide.

betablue
9th January 2006, 00:51
OK, I went a little further on this install following the guide and have noticed that there is more similar issues with the edit of files (maybe general edit procedure should be explained somewhere if no exact commands/instructions are given)

I used vi to create/edit needed files and it worked just fine.

When I got to the line:

install Net::DNS (when prompted to enable tests, choose no)

in the "Install some Perl Modules needed by SpamAssassin" section an obsticle occured:
there was no promt to enable/disable tests and as it went on and it returned an error:


cpan> install Net::DNS

Running install for module Net::DNS
Running make for O/OL/OLAF/Net-DNS-0.51.tar.gz
Is already unwrapped into directory /root/.cpan/build/Net-DNS-0.51
Has already been processed within this session
Running make test
PERL_DL_NONLAZY=1 /usr/bin/perl "-MExtUtils::Command::MM" "-e" "test_harness(0, 'blib/lib', 'blib/arch')" t/*.t
t/00-load..................ok
t/00-pod...................skipped
all skipped: Test::Pod v0.95 required for testing POD
t/00-version...............ok
t/01-resolver-env..........ok
t/01-resolver-file.........ok
7/8 skipped: Could not read configuration file
t/01-resolver-opt..........ok
t/01-resolver..............ok
2/44 skipped: Online tests disabled.
t/02-header................ok
t/03-question..............ok
t/04-packet-unique-push....ok
t/04-packet................ok
t/05-rr-sshfp..............skipped
all skipped: Digest::BubbleBabble not installed.
t/05-rr-txt................ok
t/05-rr-unknown............ok
t/05-rr....................ok
t/06-update................ok
t/07-misc..................ok
t/08-online................skipped
all skipped: Online tests disabled.
t/09-tkey..................ok
t/10-recurse...............skipped
all skipped: Online tests disabled.
t/11-escapedchars..........NOK 41# Failed test (t/11-escapedchars.t at line 203)
# got: 'bla(*.foo.org'
# expected: 'bla\(*.foo.org'
t/11-escapedchars..........NOK 95# Failed test (t/11-escapedchars.t at line 203)
# got: '\000\001\002\003\004\005\006\007\008\009\010\011\ 012\013\014\015\016\017\018\019\020\021\022\023\02 4\025\026\027\028\029\030\031\032.!\"#\$%&'()*+,-\./0.:\;<=>?\@A.[\\]^_`.{|}~\127\128\129'
# expected: '\000\001\002\003\004\005\006\007\008\009\010\011\ 012\013\014\015\016\017\018\019\020\021\022\023\02 4\025\026\027\028\029\030\031\032.!\"#\$%&'\(\)*+,-\./0.:\;<=>?\@A.[\\]^_`.{|}~\127\128\129'
t/11-escapedchars..........ok 96/141#
# disabling XS based dns_expand for a moment.
t/11-escapedchars..........ok 99/141#
# Continuing to use the XS based dn_expand()
t/11-escapedchars..........ok 141/141# Looks like you failed 2 tests of 141.
t/11-escapedchars..........dubious
Test returned status 2 (wstat 512, 0x200)
DIED. FAILED tests 41, 95
Failed 2/141 tests, 98.58% okay
t/11-inet6.................ok
5/6 skipped: Socket6 and or IO::Socket::INET6 not loaded
Failed Test Stat Wstat Total Fail Failed List of Failed
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
t/11-escapedchars.t 2 512 141 2 1.42% 41 95
4 tests and 14 subtests skipped.
Failed 1/22 test scripts, 95.45% okay. 2/902 subtests failed, 99.78% okay.
make: *** [test_dynamic] Error 255
/usr/bin/make test -- NOT OK
Running make install
make test had returned bad status, won't install without force

cpan>



Any ideas what't up with it?

All others (HTML::Parser, DB_File, Digest::SHA1) report as "up to date"

falko
9th January 2006, 01:32
in the "Install some Perl Modules needed by SpamAssassin" section an obsticle occured:
there was no promt to enable/disable tests and as it went on and it returned an error:

Maybe you've overseen it. It is there, so you should try again.

betablue
9th January 2006, 02:26
OK,

when I exit perl shell and come back I run:

install Net::DNS

it responds with:


(...)
The libraries needed to support IPv6 transport have not been found.
You will need recent versions of the IO::Socket::INET6 and Socket6
libraries (from CPAN).

Testing if you have a C compiler and the needed header files....
cc -c -o compile.o compile.c
You have a working compiler.

You appear to be directly connected to the Internet. I have some tests
that try to query live nameservers.

Do you want to enable these tests? [y]
when I answer "n[Enter]"

it returns with:


# Continuing to use the XS based dn_expand()
t/11-escapedchars..........ok 141/141# Looks like you failed 2 tests of 141.
t/11-escapedchars..........dubious
Test returned status 2 (wstat 512, 0x200)
DIED. FAILED tests 41, 95
Failed 2/141 tests, 98.58% okay
t/11-inet6.................ok
5/6 skipped: Socket6 and or IO::Socket::INET6 not loaded
Failed Test Stat Wstat Total Fail Failed List of Failed
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
t/11-escapedchars.t 2 512 141 2 1.42% 41 95
4 tests and 14 subtests skipped.
Failed 1/22 test scripts, 95.45% okay. 2/902 subtests failed, 99.78% okay.
make: *** [test_dynamic] Error 255
/usr/bin/make test -- NOT OK
Running make install
make test had returned bad status, won't install without force



How do I install The libraries needed to support IPv6 transport in order to defeat this error?

falko
9th January 2006, 11:22
How do I install The libraries needed to support IPv6 transport in order to defeat this error?
You can try install IO::Socket::INET6 on the Perl shell. But I've never seen this error before...

capz
10th January 2006, 01:00
hello, i am having difficulties RPM-ing apt, when i do the following
rpm -ivh http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm
i get a
error: skipping http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm - transfer failed - Unknown or unexpected error
Warning: _url_cache[0] 0x98badb8 nrefs(10217767) !=1 ( )

any idea how to fix this?

48v
10th January 2006, 03:23
I've followed the intsructions up to this point. When I run the line 'quotacheck -avugm' I get the error : "Can't find filesystems to check or filesystems not mounted with quota option." My friend who is logged in remotely via ssh gets the error: "bash: quotacheck: command not found." On the actuall machine, the command "whereis quotacheck" returns '/sbin/quotacheck /usr/share/man/man8/quotacheck.8.gz' (I had to retype this across machines so their could be a possible typo.) Any guesses as to what is wrong? I'm fairly new to linux but my friend has a lot of experience with it. Otherwise: great article, thanks for providing it!

48v
10th January 2006, 04:54
Pardon me. Said friend says that the command not found error was a path issue and has been resolved. Also of note: the comands were all run as root, if that helps.

Thanks,
48v

falko
10th January 2006, 13:19
hello, i am having difficulties RPM-ing apt, when i do the following

i get a


any idea how to fix this?
Maybe a firewall issue...
You could download http://ftp.freshrpms.net/pub/fedora/linux/extras/4/i386/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm to your Windows workstation, then use WinSCP ( http://winscp.net/eng/index.php ) to transfer the file to your Linux system and then install it like this:
rpm -ivh /path/to/apt-0.5.15cnc7-6.fc4.i386.rpm

falko
10th January 2006, 13:20
I've followed the intsructions up to this point. When I run the line 'quotacheck -avugm' I get the error : "Can't find filesystems to check or filesystems not mounted with quota option." My friend who is logged in remotely via ssh gets the error: "bash: quotacheck: command not found." On the actuall machine, the command "whereis quotacheck" returns '/sbin/quotacheck /usr/share/man/man8/quotacheck.8.gz' (I had to retype this across machines so their could be a possible typo.) Any guesses as to what is wrong? I'm fairly new to linux but my friend has a lot of experience with it. Otherwise: great article, thanks for providing it!
What does /etc/fstab look like?

falko
10th January 2006, 13:23
This thread is getting confusing because everyone's posting completely different problems in here. That's why I'm closing it now.

To everyone involved in this thread and whose problems have not been solved yet: please open a new thread. :)