PDA

View Full Version : Own language pack?


maxx
29th July 2005, 14:52
How to add/edit/make own language pack?

- Maxx

till
29th July 2005, 15:34
How to add/edit/make own language pack?

- Maxx

1) If you want to edit an exiting language pack, serach for files with
the extension .lng and the language you want to edit (e.g. en.lng for
english) in the directories above the directory /home/admispconfig/ispconfig

Open the files in an text editor and change the text on the right side
of the equal sign enclosed in quotes.

--

2) If you want to make a new language pack for a language that is not
yet available in ISPConfig, take the attached .zip file (it contains the text
files for ISPConfig 2.0.6). Extract the text files inside.

Open the files in a text editor like "wordpad" on windows or linux, that can
open documents with windows and linux linebreaks. Dont use Word!

Inside the files, there are lines like this:

$hlp["dns_ttl"] = "DNS TTL in seconds.";

The text on the right side of the equal sign, enclosed
in quotes mus be translated.

The example translation for the above line to german would be:

$hlp["dns_ttl"] = "DNS TTL in Sekunden.";

When you send us these translated file we can make them part of the next
ISPConfig release and release an .pkg file to update older ISPConfig releases.

maxx
29th July 2005, 15:35
Thanks!

Now all I need to do is to get ISPconfig working... Just installing.

- Maxx

And language Finnish language pack is coming. Here is one for Uebimiau.



1) If you want to edit an exiting language pack, serach for files with
the extension .lng and the language you want to edit (e.g. en.lng for
english) in the directories above the directory /home/admispconfig/ispconfig

Open the files in an text editor and change the text on the right side
of the equal sign enclosed in quotes.

--

2) If you want to make a new language pack for a language that is not
yet available in ISPConfig, take the attached .zip file (it contains the text
files for ISPConfig 2.0.6). Extract the text files inside.

Open the files in a text editor like "wordpad" on windows or linux, that can
open documents with windows and linux linebreaks. Dont use Word!

Inside the files, there are lines like this:

$hlp["dns_ttl"] = "DNS TTL in seconds.";

The text on the right side of the equal sign, enclosed
in quotes mus be translated.

The example translation for the above line to german would be:

$hlp["dns_ttl"] = "DNS TTL in Sekunden.";

When you send us these translated file we can make them part of the next
ISPConfig release and release an .pkg file to update older ISPConfig releases.

datahellas
8th August 2005, 09:09
Hello,
I want to translate ISPconfig in Greek but the default encoding is iso-8859-1 which does not support Greek characters. In the language files I did not see any encoding settings for the translated language. How can I use iso-8859-7 for Greek? I dont want solutions like modifying apache headers. I want to have iso-8859-7 for Greek and if I switch to English to have iso-8859-1.

Note: ISPConfig installation went perfect on my new Fedora Core 4 server. Thanks ISPconfig development team.

till
8th August 2005, 10:36
Hello,
I want to translate ISPconfig in Greek but the default encoding is iso-8859-1 which does not support Greek characters. In the language files I did not see any encoding settings for the translated language. How can I use iso-8859-7 for Greek? I dont want solutions like modifying apache headers. I want to have iso-8859-7 for Greek and if I switch to English to have iso-8859-1.

Note: ISPConfig installation went perfect on my new Fedora Core 4 server. Thanks ISPconfig development team.

Hello, currently there are no other encodings suppoerted. We are working
on the support for other than iso-8859-1 encodings.

rkubik
24th January 2006, 15:42
Hello, currently there are no other encodings suppoerted. We are working
on the support for other than iso-8859-1 encodings.

Hi all,

is here any further development regarding encoding support. I wanted to translate lng files to Czech but found that encoding would be a problem. Thanks for info. RK

till
24th January 2006, 19:14
Other encodings where not supported yet, but you might build encoding support for ISPConfig and submit a patch :-)

rkubik
27th January 2006, 12:13
Other encodings where not supported yet, but you might build encoding support for ISPConfig and submit a patch :-)

Thanks for info. I would do it if I know how. The ony thing I can do unfortunately is to translate lng.files. RK

till
27th January 2006, 14:40
I will try to get encodings working in ISPConfig 2 soon :)

Traxus
27th January 2006, 15:10
What about switching from ISO-8859-1 to UTF-8 encoding? That way language depending encodings are not required and it should work nicely with PHP.

till
27th January 2006, 17:59
My experience is that PHP is not prepared for UTF-8 at all, you will have to replace all string functions with the MB equivalents to get multibyte support.

Traxus
27th January 2006, 19:03
My experience is that PHP is not prepared for UTF-8 at all, you will have to replace all string functions with the MB equivalents to get multibyte support.
Not neccesary, one can activate the multibyte functions by a PHP setting, they then override the usual string operations, eliminating the need to change the code.

nenad
8th September 2006, 08:16
My experience is that PHP is not prepared for UTF-8 at all, you will have to replace all string functions with the MB equivalents to get multibyte support.

:confused:

PHP is not UTF-8 ready ?
CPG-NUKE (DragonFly) edition is comepletelly based on UTF-8
It works flawlessly.

Take a look: http://www.cvecara-neven.com (customized CPGNUKE for Serbian translation, I am official translator for Serbian language). CpgNuke is CMS based on PHP/MySQL.

By the way, I am customizing osCommerce for Serbian too:
http://www.web-hosting-solutions.biz (development environment, later will be placed on http://www.bpcomputers.co.yu)

There is also no problems neither with PHP or MySQL if UTF-8 is default.

BTW I use this immediatelly after installation of MySQL (during ISPConfig setup)

joe /etc/mysql/my.cnf

[mysqld]
default-character-set=utf8

/etc/init.d/mysql restart
------------------------------------------

http://www.php.net/mbstring

; Set default language
mbstring.language = Neutral; Set default language to Neutral(UTF-8) (default)
mbstring.language = English; Set default language to English
mbstring.language = Japanese; Set default language to Japanese

;; Set default internal encoding
;; Note: Make sure to use character encoding works with PHP
mbstring.internal_encoding = UTF-8 ; Set internal encoding to UTF-8

till
8th September 2006, 11:21
The php project says itself that the first fully UTF-8 capable version will be php 6.

I know that you can tweak php and mysql to work with UTF-8, but this may break many other applications on your server. Mbstring is an extension and not the default string library in php.

We will not change that soon as it will break most likely all old installtions.

nenad
8th September 2006, 11:34
OK if you say so, untill now I didn't noticed any broken application on my server (the ones that I broke myself due to lack of knowledge are excluded :) )

schmidtedv
13th May 2007, 23:06
Just a question to this...it seems everything is working: I changed my.cnf on my test-server (etch) to:


[client]
default-character-set = utf8
port = 3306
socket = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock
# Here is entries for some specific programs
# The following values assume you have at least 32M ram
# This was formally known as [safe_mysqld]. Both versions are currently parsed.
[mysqld_safe]
socket = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock
nice = 0
[mysqld]
#
# * Basic Settings
#
character_set_server = utf8
collation_server = utf8_unicode_ci
default-character-set = utf8



and then changed my phpBB-Projekt inside to a utf-8 compatible-version and made a db for it with utf8_unicode_ci (export/reformat/import) and then also (probably stupid but hopefully not dangerous?) changed my mysql-db into utf8_unicode_ci (export/reformat/import). I also did that with ispconfig first, but I noticed that langfiles are iso, etc. so I switched this back and just reimported the db as latin1_general_ci (not swedish anymore)

Anything wrong with this? (Horrible question probably, but maybe someone tried that once or knows, if this breaks something I didn't think of, maybe)